Bahrain GP: 10 previous winners of the race

Check out previous race winners, polesitters and fastest lap setters from the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Formula 1 has moved on to Bahrain for its fourth round of 2015, and fans will be hoping for another thrilling encounter to take place around the floodlit 3.363-mile Bahrain International Circuit this weekend after last year's nailbiting battle between Mercedes teammates Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg.

Not only was the duo's 'duel in the desert' immediately etched into the collective memories of F1 fans the world over, the race provided a crucial boost for the sport at a time when criticism over the newly introduced technical regulations was gathering pace.

Interestingly, 2014 has been Hamilton's only victory in Bahrain, while the Briton has never been on pole position at the Herman Tilke-designed circuit.

The man with the most success at the circuit is Fernando Alonso, who was victorious in Bahrain during both of his title winning campaigns at Renault in 2005 and 2006 before taking a third win in 2010 on his debut outing for Ferrari, albeit only after Sebastian Vettel's Red Bull suffered a loss of power.

The German however went on to win the race in both 2012 and 2013, both times fending off the advances of Kimi Raikkonen.

Felipe Massa, winner at Bahrain in 2007 and 2008 for Ferrari, is the only other multiple winner at the track, with Michael Schumacher (2004) and Jenson Button (2009) having notched up solitary success for Ferrari and Brawn respectively.

It's also worth noting that during the 2006 event, Rosberg set the fastest lap on his F1 debut driving for Williams.

Year Driver Team Pole position Fastest lap
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Nico Rosberg Nico Rosberg 1:37.020
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Nico Rosberg Sebastian Vettel 1:36.961
2012 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Sebastian Vettel Sebastian Vettel 1:36.379
2010 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Sebastian Vettel Fernando Alonso 1:58.287
2009 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes Jarno Trulli Jarno Trulli 1:34.556
2008 Felipe Massa Ferrari Robert Kubica Heikki Kovalainen 1:33.193
2007 Felipe Massa Ferrari Felipe Massa Felipe Massa 1:34.067
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault Michael Schumacher Nico Rosberg 1:32.408
2005 Fernando Alonso Renault Fernando Alonso Pedro de la Rosa 1:31.447
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Michael Schumacher Michael Schumacher 1:30.252


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Event Bahrain GP
Track Bahrain International Circuit
Drivers Jarno Trulli , Jenson Button , Pedro de la Rosa , Michael Schumacher , Kimi Raikkonen , Fernando Alonso , Lewis Hamilton , Felipe Massa , Nico Rosberg , Heikki Kovalainen , Robert Kubica , Hermann Tilke , Sebastian Vettel
Teams Mercedes , Ferrari , Red Bull Racing , Brawn GP , Renault F1 Team
Article type Special feature