Austrian GP F1 Sprint race: Start time, how to watch, channel

Formula 1 will stage a Sprint race on Saturday at the Red Bull Ring to determine the grid for the 2022 Austrian Grand Prix. Here's how and when you can watch it.

Austrian GP F1 Sprint race: Start time, how to watch, channel
Listen to this article

Red Bull's Max Verstappen will start from pole position after topping the qualifying session on Friday. Ferrari duo Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz will line up second and third respectively, while Sergio Perez (Red Bull) will have to start all the way down in 13th after losing several laps to track limits infringement.

What time does the Sprint race for the Austrian Grand Prix start?

The Sprint for the Austrian GP will begin at 16:30 local time (+2 GMT) at the Red Bull Ring. The race will run to a distance of 24 laps or roughly 100km.

  • Date: Saturday, July 9, 2022 
  • Start time: 14:30 GMT / 15:30 BST / 16:30 CEST / 16:30 SAST / 17:30 EAT / 10:30 ET / 07:30 PT / 00:30 AEST (Sunday) / 23:30 JST / 20:00 IST 

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

2022 Formula 1 Austrian Grand Prix session timings in different timezones

Session

GMT

BST

CEST

ET

PT

AEST

JST

IST

FP1

11:30

12:30

13:30

07:30

04:30

21:30

20:30

17:00

Q

15:00 16:00

17:00

11:00

08:00

01:00¹

00:00¹

20:30

FP2

10:30

11:30

12:30

06:30

03:30

20:30

19:30

16:00

Sprint

14:30

15:30

16:30

10:30

07:30

00:30¹

23:30

20:00

Race 

13:00

14:00

15:00

09:00

06:00

23:00

22:00

18:30

How can I watch the Austria Sprint race?

Formula 1 is broadcast live in nearly every country around the world. 

Europe

  • Austria - Servus TV / ORF
  • Belgium - RTBF / Telent / Play Sport Open
  • Czech Republic - AMC
  • Denmark - TV3 / TV3 Sport / Viaplay
  • Finland - Viaplay
  • France - Canal+
  • Germany - Sky / RTL
  • Greece - ERT / Cosmote TV
  • Hungary - M4
  • Italy - Sky
  • Netherlands - Viaplay
  • Poland - Eleven Sports
  • Portugal - Sport TV
  • Spain - Movistar / DAZN
  • Sweden - Viaplay / V sport motor / TV 10
  • Switzerland - SRF / RSI / RTS
  • UK - Sky Sports F1

Americas

  • USA - ESPN2
  • Canada - RDS / RDS2 / TSN / Noovo
  • Latin America - Fox Sports / ESPN

Asia

  • China - Great Sports TV / Guangdong TV
  • India - Star Sports
  • Japan - Fuji Television
  • Malaysia - Astro Sports
  • Indonesia- 0 Channel / Champions TV / Vidio
  • Singapore - Singtel / Starhub
  • Thailand - True Visions
  • Turkey - S Sport / S Sport Plus
  • Vietnam - K+

Oceania

  • Australia - Fox Sports / Network 10
  • New Zealand - Spark Sports

Africa

  • Africa - SuperSport

Can I stream the Sprint race?

Viewers from selected countries can subscribe to F1 TV to stream the Austria Sprint race on a device of their choice. Some local broadcasters such as Sky TV (UK) and Movistar (Spain) also offer their own on-demand service. 

Live commentary

Motorsport.com will bring the latest updates from the Red Bull Ring throughout the weekend, including live commentary during the Sprint race on Saturday.

Austrian GP Sprint - Starting grid:

Cla Driver Chassis Time Gap
1 Netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull 1'04.984  
2 Monaco Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1'05.013 0.029
3 Spain Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1'05.066 0.082
4 United Kingdom George Russell Mercedes 1'05.431 0.447
5 France Esteban Ocon Alpine 1'05.726 0.742
6 Denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas 1'05.879 0.895
7 Germany Mick Schumacher Haas 1'06.011 1.027
8 Spain Fernando Alonso Alpine 1'06.103 1.119
9 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1'13.151 8.167
10 France Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1'06.160 1.176
11 Thailand Alex Albon Williams 1'06.230 1.246
12 Finland Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1'06.319 1.335
13 Mexico Sergio Perez Red Bull 1'06.458 1.474
14 Japan Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1'06.851 1.867
15 United Kingdom Lando Norris McLaren 1'25.847 20.863
16 Australia Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1'06.613 1.629
17 Canada Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1'06.847 1.863
18 China Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo 1'06.901 1.917
19 Canada Nicholas Latifi Williams 1'07.003 2.019
20 Germany Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1'07.083 2.099
shares
comments

Related video

Perez to start Austria sprint 13th after Q3 laps deleted
Previous article

Perez to start Austria sprint 13th after Q3 laps deleted

Next article

Horner: Rumours Red Bull using F1 flexi-floor are “total rubbish”

Horner: Rumours Red Bull using F1 flexi-floor are “total rubbish”
Can Hamilton produce another Singapore magic moment? Prime

Can Hamilton produce another Singapore magic moment?

The Singapore Grand Prix has, explains Ben Edwards, played an important role in Lewis Hamilton’s Formula 1 career. As the series returns to the Marina Bay Street Circuit for the first time in three years, he faces the latest challenge with an underperforming Mercedes car.

Why Sainz is key to Ferrari achieving its chairman's F1 goals Prime

Why Sainz is key to Ferrari achieving its chairman's F1 goals

Although Ferrari's chances of title glory in 2022 have evaporated, chairman John Elkann expects the team to have chalked up both championships by 2026. Both require drivers to play the team game and, having now become more comfortable with the F1-75, Carlos Sainz may be Ferrari's key to title glory

Formula 1
Sep 27, 2022
How its faltering first turbo car advanced a Williams-Honda glory era Prime

How its faltering first turbo car advanced a Williams-Honda glory era

Stuart Codling charts the development of the Williams FW09, the ugly duckling that heralded the start of the title-winning Williams-Honda partnership

Formula 1
Sep 25, 2022
The Moss-Ferrari farce that current F1 drivers are thankfully spared Prime

The Moss-Ferrari farce that current F1 drivers are thankfully spared

Recent moves within the driver market have reminded Maurce Hamilton of a time when contracts weren’t worth the paper they weren’t written on…

Formula 1
Sep 24, 2022
The seven factors powering Verstappen's 2022 F1 domination Prime

The seven factors powering Verstappen's 2022 F1 domination

After a tooth and nail and, at times, toxic Formula 1 world championship scrap last year, Max Verstappen's march to a second consecutive title has been the exact opposite. But has he really changed in 2022? Here's a dive into what factors have played a crucial role, both inside the Verstappen camp and elsewhere, in the Dutch driver's domination.

Formula 1
Sep 23, 2022
The time lag of ideas that offers intrigue over F1's future fight Prime

The time lag of ideas that offers intrigue over F1's future fight

The pecking order in 2022's Formula 1 season may look pretty static as the season draws to a close, but the unique nature of the cost cap means that preparation for next season takes precedence. New developments are being pushed back to 2023, which could mask the technical development war ongoing...

Formula 1
Sep 22, 2022
The surprise biggest indicator of Ferrari's 2022 F1 points downfall Prime

The surprise biggest indicator of Ferrari's 2022 F1 points downfall

Looking back to the early races of 2022 and Ferrari’s challenge to Red Bull and Max Verstappen was going better than many expected. But it has lost so much ground a surprise rival can even pip Charles Leclerc to runner-up in the standings if given the chance

Formula 1
Sep 20, 2022
The F1 podium-finisher that gave Jordan stability in a year of chaos Prime

The F1 podium-finisher that gave Jordan stability in a year of chaos

The Hart-powered Jordan 194 gave the team hope that the good times were just around the corner. Its 1994 steed wasn’t the start of a move up F1’s pecking order - even if the car did earn the Silverstone team a first pole position. But, as STUART CODLING explains, it did provide a platform for Jordan to become a manufacturer-supported squad.

Formula 1
Sep 18, 2022