Formula 1
Formula 1
25 Jul
28 Jul
Event finished
01 Aug
04 Aug
Event finished
29 Aug
01 Sep
Event finished
05 Sep
08 Sep
Event finished
26 Sep
29 Sep
FP1 in
10 days
10 Oct
13 Oct
FP1 in
24 days

All the winners of the Canadian F1 Grand Prix

All the winners of the Canadian F1 Grand Prix
Jun 7, 2016, 4:14 PM

The Canadian Grand Prix is a fixture of the Formula 1 calendar since 1967, the year of the 100th anniversary of the country’s Confederation.

This year marks the 47th running of the race that was staged at Mosport, Ontario and Mont-Tremblant, Quebec before it found a new home on Ile Notre-Dame in Montreal in October 1978.

Only three times the Canadian race did not take place: in 1975, 1987 and 2009.

Here is the list of all the winners of this race that is usually quite interesting and very entertaining!


1967 Mosport  Jack Brabham Brabham Repco
1968 Mont-Tremblant  Denis Hulme McLaren Ford
1969 Mosport  Jacky Ickx Brabham Ford
1970 Mont-Tremblant  Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1971 Mosport  Jackie Stewart Tyrrell Ford
1972 Mosport  Jackie Stewart Tyrrell Ford
1973 Mosport  Peter Revson McLaren Ford
1974 Mosport  Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren Ford
1976 Mosport  James Hunt McLaren Ford
1977 Mosport  Jody Scheckter Wolf Ford
1978 Ile Notre-Dame  Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari
1979 Ile Notre-Dame  Alan Jones Williams Ford
1980 Ile Notre-Dame  Alan Jones Williams Ford
1981 Ile Notre-Dame  Jacques Laffite Ligier Matra
1982 Gilles-Villeneuve  Nelson Piquet Brabham BMW
1983 Gilles-Villeneuve  René Arnoux Ferrari
1984 Gilles-Villeneuve  Nelson Piquet Brabham BMW
1985 Gilles-Villeneuve  Michele Alboreto Ferrari
1986 Gilles-Villeneuve  Nigel Mansell Williams Honda
1988 Gilles-Villeneuve  Ayrton Senna McLaren Honda
1989 Gilles-Villeneuve  Thierry Boutsen Williams Renault
1990 Gilles-Villeneuve  Ayrton Senna McLaren Honda
1991 Gilles-Villeneuve  Nelson Piquet Benetton Ford
1992 Gilles-Villeneuve  Gerhard Berger McLaren Honda
1993 Gilles-Villeneuve  Alain Prost Williams Renault
1994 Gilles-Villeneuve Michael Schumacher Benetton Ford
1995 Gilles-Villeneuve  Jean Alesi Ferrari
1996 Gilles-Villeneuve  Damon Hill Williams Renault
1997 Gilles-Villeneuve Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1998 Gilles-Villeneuve  Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1999 Gilles-Villeneuve  Mika Häkkinen McLaren Mercedes
2000 Gilles-Villeneuve  Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2001 Gilles-Villeneuve  Ralf Schumacher Williams BMW
2002 Gilles-Villeneuve  Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2003 Gilles-Villeneuve  Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2004 Gilles-Villeneuve  Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2005 Gilles-Villeneuve  Kimi Räikkönen McLaren Mercedes
2006 Gilles-Villeneuve  Fernando Alonso Renault
2007 Gilles-Villeneuve  Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mercedes
2008 Gilles-Villeneuve  Robert Kubica BMW Sauber
2010 Gilles-Villeneuve  Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mercedes
2011 Gilles-Villeneuve  Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes
2012 Gilles-Villeneuve  Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mercedes
2013 Gilles-Villeneuve  Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Renault
2014 Gilles-Villeneuve  Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Renault
2015 Gilles-Villeneuve  Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
Next article
Pirelli defends increased F1 tyre pressure monitoring

Previous article

Pirelli defends increased F1 tyre pressure monitoring

Next article

Strategy more important than pole: F1 set for a wild weekend ride in Montreal

Strategy more important than pole: F1 set for a wild weekend ride in Montreal
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula 1
Event Canadian GP
Location Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve
Author René Fagnan