2022 F1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix session timings and preview

Formula 1 travels to Baku this weekend on June 10 -12 for the eighth round of the 2022 schedule. Here's all you need to know about the 2022 Azerbaijan Grand Prix.

2022 F1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix session timings and preview
Listen to this article

Max Verstappen leads the drivers' championship heading to Baku with a margin of nine points over Charles Leclerc, while Red Bull is 36 points clear of Ferrari in the constructors' standings.

Sergio Perez won last year's Azerbaijan GP following a spectacular tyre failure for his Red Bull teammate Verstappen while leading the race.

Ahead of the weekend, Red Bull said Baku will be the ultimate test for its DRS fixes, with the street circuit featuring several long straights including a 2.2km blast to the braking zone at Turn 1.

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix session timings in different timezones

Session

GMT

BST

CEST

ET

PT

AEST

JST

IST

FP1

11:00

12:00

13:00

07:00

04:00

21:00

20:00

16:30

FP2

14:00 15:00

16:00

10:00

07:00

00:00¹

23:00

19:30

FP3

11:00

12:00

13:00

07:00

04:00

21:00

20:00

16:30

Q

14:00

15:00

16:00

10:00

07:00

00:00¹

23:00

19:30

Race 

11:00

12:00

13:00

07:00

04:00

21:00

20:00

16:30

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan GP session timings in local time

Friday 10th June 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 15:00 - 16:00 local time
  • Free Practice 2: 18:00 - 19:00 local time

Saturday 11th June 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 15:00 - 16:00 local time
  • Qualifying: 18:00 - 19:00 local time

Sunday 12th June 2022

  • Race: 15:00 local time

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan GP session timings in the UK/Portugal 

Friday 10th June 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 12:00 - 13:00 BST
  • Free Practice 2: 15:00 - 16:00 BST

Saturday 11th June 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 12:00 - 13:00 BST
  • Qualifying: 15:00 - 16:00 BST

Sunday 12th June 2022

  • Race: 12:00 BST

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan GP session timings in Europe

Friday 10th June 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 13:00 - 14:00 CEST
  • Free Practice 2: 16:00 -17:00 CEST

Saturday 11th June 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 13:00 - 14:00 CEST
  • Qualifying: 16:00 - 17:00 CEST

Sunday 12th June 2022

  • Race: 13:00 CEST

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan GP session timings in the US

Friday 10th June 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 07:00 - 08:00 ET / 04:00 - 05:00 PT
  • Free Practice 2: 10:00 - 11:00 ET / 07:00 - 08:00 PT

Saturday 11th June 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 07:00 - 08:00 ET / 04:00 - 05:00 PT
  • Qualifying: 10:00 - 11:00 ET / 07:00 - 08:00 PT 

Sunday 12th June 2022

  • Race: 07:00 ET / 04:00 PT

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan GP session timings in Australia

Friday 10th June 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 21:00 - 22:00 AEST

Saturday 11th June 2022

  • Free Practice 2: 00:00 - 01:00 AEST
  • Free Practice 3: 21:00 - 22:00 AEST

Sunday 12th June 2022

  • Qualifying: 00:00 - 01:00 AEST
  • Race: 21:00 AEST

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan GP session timings in Japan

Friday 10th June 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 20:00 - 21:00 JST
  • Free Practice 2: 23:00 - 00:00 JST

Saturday 11th June 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 20:00 - 21:00 JST
  • Qualifying: 23:00 - 00:00 JST

Sunday 12th June 2022

  • Race: 20:00 JST

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan GP session timings in Africa

Friday 10th June 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 13:00 - 14:00 SAST / 14:00 - 15:00 EAT
  • Free Practice 2: 16:00 - 17:00 SAST / 17:00 - 18:00 EAT 

Saturday 11th June 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 13:00 - 14:00 SAST / 14:00 - 15:00 EAT
  • Qualifying: 16:00 - 17:00 SAST / 17:00 - 18:00 EAT

Sunday 12th June 2022

  • Race: 13:00 SAST / 14:00 EAT

2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan GP session timings in India

Friday 10th June 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 16:30 - 17:30 IST
  • Free Practice 2: 19:30 - 20:30 IST

Saturday 11th June 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 16:30 - 17:30 IST
  • Qualifying: 19:30 - 20:30 IST

Sunday 12th June 2022

  • Race: 16:30 

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the Formula 1 schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

Pirelli tyre allocation for the Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Like Monaco, Pirelli is bringing the three softest tyres from its range to Azerbaijan - C3 hard, C4 medium and C5 soft.

shares
comments

Related video

McLaren models to feature in Petersen Automotive Museum
Previous article

McLaren models to feature in Petersen Automotive Museum

Next article

Why Formula 1 2022's midfield battle is so unpredictable

Why Formula 1 2022's midfield battle is so unpredictable
The other McLaren exile hoping to follow Perez's path to a top F1 seat Prime

The other McLaren exile hoping to follow Perez's path to a top F1 seat

After being ditched by McLaren earlier in his F1 career Sergio Perez fought his way back into a seat with a leading team. BEN EDWARDS thinks the same could be happening to another member of the current grid

How studying Schumacher helped make Coulthard a McLaren F1 mainstay Prime

How studying Schumacher helped make Coulthard a McLaren F1 mainstay

Winner of 13 grands prix including Monaco and survivor of a life-changing plane crash, David Coulthard could be forgiven for having eased into a quiet retirement – but, as MARK GALLAGHER explains, in fact he’s busier than ever, running an award-winning media company and championing diversity in motor racing. Not bad for someone who, by his own admission, wasn’t quite the fastest driver of his generation…

Formula 1
Aug 7, 2022
Could F1 move to a future beyond carbon fibre? Prime

Could F1 move to a future beyond carbon fibre?

Formula 1 has ambitious goals for improving its carbon footprint, but could this include banishing its favoured composite material? Pat Symonds considers the alternatives to carbon fibre and what use, if any, those materials have in a Formula 1 setting

Formula 1
Aug 6, 2022
The traits that fuelled Alonso's unexpected Aston Martin F1 move Prime

The traits that fuelled Alonso's unexpected Aston Martin F1 move

Fernando Alonso’s bombshell switch to Aston Martin sent shockwaves through Formula 1, not least at Alpine that finds itself tangled in a contract standoff with Oscar Piastri. Not shy of a bold career move and with a CV punctuated by them, there were numerous hints that trouble was brewing.

Formula 1
Aug 4, 2022
The elements Ferrari must resolve to first save face, then win championships Prime

The elements Ferrari must resolve to first save face, then win championships

OPINION: Ferrari's Formula 1 title hopes look all but over after another strategic blunder in last week's Hungarian Grand Prix denied Charles Leclerc the chance to fight for victory, while handing it to chief rival Max Verstappen. The Scuderia now faces intense scrutiny over what it must now do to finally become a genuine factor in championship battles

Formula 1
Aug 3, 2022
The clues about Hamilton’s F1 retirement plans after Vettel decision Prime

The clues about Hamilton’s F1 retirement plans after Vettel decision

OPINION: Sebastian Vettel is set to leave Formula 1 at the end of 2022 and will, rather shockingly, be replaced by Fernando Alonso at Aston Martin. But what about the final chapter of the other driver that defined the post-Michael Schumacher era? In Hungary, Lewis Hamilton spoke about his future in the context of Vettel’s upcoming departure, which offered clues on how long it will last.

Formula 1
Aug 2, 2022
Why all signs point to F1’s Monaco special relationship continuing Prime

Why all signs point to F1’s Monaco special relationship continuing

OPINION: With more potential venues than there are slots in future calendars, rumours have been circulating that the Monaco Grand Prix could be a casualty of F1’s expansion into new markets. But Mark Gallagher thinks this is highly unlikely.

Formula 1
Aug 2, 2022
Hungarian Grand Prix Driver Ratings 2022 Prime

Hungarian Grand Prix Driver Ratings 2022

The Hungarian Grand Prix race result, after a dry race held without safety car conditions, bore little resemblance to what was anticipated after qualifying. While certain drivers were nullified by some iffy strategy calls, others shone to grasp opportunities afforded to them in the last F1 race before the summer break

Formula 1
Aug 1, 2022