Subscribe

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Motorsport prime

Discover premium content
Subscribe

Edition

Global Global
Formula 1 Australian GP

F1 Australian Grand Prix qualifying – Start time, how to watch, channel

Melbourne plays host to the third round of the 2022 Formula 1 season. Here's how you can watch qualifying for the Australian Grand Prix.

Nicholas Latifi, Williams FW44, Mick Schumacher, Haas VF-22

Ferrari topped both practice sessions on Friday in the run up to qualifying, with Carlos Sainz setting the pace in FP1 and teammate Charles Leclerc going even quicker in FP2.

Max Verstappen separated Leclerc and Sainz in second practice, suggesting Australia might feature another two-horse battle between Red Bull Ferrari.

What time does qualifying for the Australian Grand Prix start?

Qualifying for the Australian will begin at 16:00 local time (+10 GMT) at the Albert Park Circuit on Saturday. The three-part session will last approximately one hour.

  • Date: Saturday, April 9, 2022 
  • Start time: 06:00 GMT / 07:00 BST / 08:00 CEST / 08:00 SAST / 09:00 EAT / 02:00 ET / 23:00 PT (Friday) / 16:00 AEST / 14:00 JST / 10:30 IST 

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

2022 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix session timings in different timezones

Session

GMT

BST

CEST

ET

PT

AEST

JST

IST

FP1

03:00

04:00

05:00

23:00

20:00

13:00

12:00

08:30

FP2

06:00 07:00

08:00

02:00

23:00

16:00

15:00

11:30

FP3

03:00

04:00

05:00

23:00

20:00

13:00

12:00

08:30

Qualifying

06:00

07:00

08:00

02:00

23:00

16:00

15:00

11:30

Race 

05:00

06:00

07:00

01:00

22:00

15:00

14:00

10:30

How can I watch qualifying?

Formula 1 is broadcast live in nearly every country around the world. 

Europe

  • Austria - Servus TV / ORF
  • Belgium - RTBF / Telent / Play Sport Open
  • Czech Republic - AMC
  • Denmark - TV3 / TV3 Sport / Viaplay
  • Finland - Viaplay
  • France - Canal+
  • Germany - Sky / RTL
  • Greece - ERT / Cosmote TV
  • Hungary - M4
  • Italy - Sky
  • Netherlands - Viaplay
  • Poland - Eleven Sports
  • Portugal - Sport TV
  • Spain - Movistar / DAZN
  • Sweden - Viaplay / V sport motor / TV 10
  • Switzerland - SRF / RSI / RTS
  • UK - Sky Sports F1

Americas

  • USA - ESPN2
  • Canada - RDS / RDS2 / TSN / Noovo
  • Latin America - Fox Sports / ESPN

Asia

  • China - Great Sports TV / Guangdong TV
  • India - Star Sports
  • Japan - Fuji Television
  • Malaysia - Astro Sports
  • Indonesia- 0 Channel / Champions TV / Vidio
  • Singapore - Singtel / Starhub
  • Thailand - True Visions
  • Turkey - S Sport / S Sport Plus
  • Vietnam - K+

Oceania

  • Australia - Fox Sports / Network 10
  • New Zealand - Spark Sports

Africa

  • Africa - SuperSport

Can I stream qualifying?

Viewers from selected countries can subscribe to F1 TV to stream qualifying on a device of their choice. Some local broadcasters such as Sky TV (UK) and Movistar (Spain) also offer their own on-demand service. 

Live commentary

Motorsport.com will bring the latest updates from Albert Park throughout the weekend, including live commentary during qualifying on Saturday.

Australian Grand Prix - FP1 results:

Cla Driver Chassis Time Gap
1 Spain Carlos Sainz Jr. Ferrari 1'19.806  
2 Monaco Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1'20.377 0.571
3 Mexico Sergio Perez Red Bull 1'20.399 0.593
4 Netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull 1'20.626 0.820
5 United Kingdom Lando Norris McLaren 1'20.878 1.072
6 France Esteban Ocon Alpine 1'21.004 1.198
7 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1'21.027 1.221
8 Australia Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1'21.155 1.349
9 Spain Fernando Alonso Alpine 1'21.229 1.423
10 Finland Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1'21.247 1.441
11 Japan Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1'21.289 1.483
12 United Kingdom George Russell Mercedes 1'21.457 1.651
13 Germany Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1'21.661 1.855
14 France Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1'21.701 1.895
15 China Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo 1'21.821 2.015
16 Canada Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1'21.869 2.063
17 Thailand Alex Albon Williams 1'22.754 2.948
18 Denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas 1'23.186 3.380
19 Canada Nicholas Latifi Williams 1'23.924 4.118
20 Germany Mick Schumacher Haas 1'24.349 4.543

Australian Grand Prix - FP2 results:

Cla Driver Chassis Time Gap
1 Monaco Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1'18.978  
2 Netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull 1'19.223 0.245
3 Spain Carlos Sainz Jr. Ferrari 1'19.376 0.398
4 Spain Fernando Alonso Alpine 1'19.537 0.559
5 Mexico Sergio Perez Red Bull 1'19.658 0.680
6 France Esteban Ocon Alpine 1'19.842 0.864
7 Finland Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1'20.055 1.077
8 United Kingdom Lando Norris McLaren 1'20.100 1.122
9 France Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1'20.142 1.164
10 Australia Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1'20.203 1.225
11 United Kingdom George Russell Mercedes 1'20.212 1.234
12 Japan Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1'20.424 1.446
13 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1'20.521 1.543
14 Canada Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1'20.611 1.633
15 China Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo 1'21.063 2.085
16 Denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas 1'21.191 2.213
17 Thailand Alex Albon Williams 1'21.912 2.934
18 Germany Mick Schumacher Haas 1'21.974 2.996
19 Canada Nicholas Latifi Williams 1'22.307 3.329
20 Germany Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin    

Be part of Motorsport community

Join the conversation

Related video

Previous article Vettel explains F1 moped incident after Australian GP practice
Next article FIA set for clampdown on F1 driver underwear

Top Comments

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Motorsport prime

Discover premium content
Subscribe

Edition

Global Global