2012 World Champions crowned at FIA Gala

Sebastian Vettel and Red Bull Racing officially became champions at the ceremony in Istanbul.

The annual FIA gala was this year held in Istanbul, Turkey, but what hadn’t changed were the winners.

After the thrilling championship finale at the Brazilian Grand Prix, Sebastian Vettel found himself officially crowned the World Driver’s Champion after receiving the trophy for the third time in three years.

Winning the title with Red Bull Racing three times in a row makes us all feel very proud.

Sebastian Vettel

"Winning the title with Red Bull Racing three times in a row makes us all feel very proud," said Vettel. “This was a season with lots of ups and downs and the team had to push hard to get me over the line. In the garage and at the factory everyone did an incredible job."

Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen were also at the event to collect their trophies for finishing second and third in the championship.

Red Bull Racing’s Christian Horner collected the Formula One World Constructors’ Championship from FIA president Jean Todt.

"This is a phenomenal achievement for our team. The hard work and the dedication this year have been exemplary – but I think hard work and dedication have been common up and down the pit lane in this fantastic Formula One season.

FIA Prize Giving Gala 2012
FIA Prize Giving Gala 2012

Photo by: FIA

It didn't seem possible we could raise our game after last year but I think we have.

"The team have used every scrap of their skill and ingenuity; they've had the courage of their convictions and have refused to buckle under the most enormous pressure. I'm honoured to collect this trophy on their behalf."

Other awards given out were Sebastien Loeb and Citroen’s incredible ninth WRC trophy, the Formula One Promotional Trophy went to the Indian Grand Prix and Sky Sports received an award for the best television coverage.

Red Bull Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Drivers Kimi Raikkonen , Fernando Alonso , Sébastien Loeb , Sebastian Vettel , Jean Todt
Teams Red Bull Racing , Citroën World Rally Team
Article type Breaking news
Tags red bull, vettel, wrc