Vitor Baptista becomes 2015 Euroformula Open champion

Brazilian driver Vitor Baptista won the 2015 Euroformula Open title in Catalunya, coming out on top in his rookie season in the junior single-seater category.

Baptista, 17, switched to European racing after a debut season in his native Brazil saw him take the B-class title in the national F3 series - with the main crown going to Pedro Piquet.

Joining perennial Euroformula Open frontrunners RP Motorsport, Baptista took wins at Paul Ricard, Estoril, Spielberg, Spa-Francorchamps and Monza, eventually overhauling main rival Konstantin Tereshchenko by five points.

In winning the EF Open title, Baptista follows in the footsteps of compatriot Ricardo Mauricio (who won it back when it was held under the Spanish F3 moniker), as well as GP3 racers Alex Fontana and Sandy Stuvik and Indy Lights race winner Ed Jones.

The RP Motorsport team, which clinched its fourth consecutive teams' title, will join the Formula 3.5 V8 series in 2016.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Euroformula Open
Drivers Vitor Baptista
Teams RP Motorsport
Article type Breaking news