Zandvoort F3: Ilott wins Race 2, Norris takes points lead

Callum Ilott collected his fifth win of the 2017 European Formula 3 season at Zandvoort, as Lando Norris took the championship lead by a point over Maximilian Gunther.

Ilott, who inherited pole position after Norris received a two-place grid penalty for a yellow-flag offence in the second qualifying session, claimed the lead off the line.

The Prema driver quickly built a gap over Jake Hughes, but that was nullified by the safety car appearing at the end of the opening lap.

It was called out as a result of Pedro Piquet getting stranded in the gravel at Hugenholtzbocht, after he was hit by Van Amersfoort Racing teammate Joey Mawson.

Ilott's lead was not in danger on the safety car restart either, as he quickly stretched his advantage to over two seconds, a gap he then constantly increased for the rest of the race to win by 7.3s.

Hughes collected his fourth podium finish of the season in similarly trouble-free fashion, albeit just 1.3s ahead of Norris.

Norris took the points lead by a point over Gunther, who was unable to make progress from seventh on the grid.

Harrison Newey passed David Beckmann at the start to claim fourth, as Ferdinand Habsburg withstood early pressure from Gunther for sixth.

Prema duo Guan Yu Zhou and Mick Schumacher both gained a position after Jehan Daruvala was given a drive-through penalty when running eighth.

The top 10 was completed by Hitech's Ralf Aron.

Joel Eriksson was unable to score from 13th on the grid, as he only gained one spot to finish 12th, and is now 29 points behind Norris in the standings.

Race results

Pos. Driver  Team Time/Gap 
1  Callum Ilott Prema Powerteam 34'52.414
2  Jake Hughes Hitech 7.371
3  Lando Norris Carlin 8.742
4  Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing 14.993
5  David Beckmann Motopark 15.650
6  Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 20.059
7  Maximilian Gunther Prema Powerteam 20.756
8  Guan Yu Zhou Prema Powerteam 21.837
9  Mick Schumacher Prema Powerteam 22.405
10  Ralf Aron Hitech 23.367
11  Nikita Mazepin Hitech 24.239
12  Joel Eriksson Motopark 24.671
13  Keyvan Andres Motopark 34.803
14  Joey Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing 35.537
15  Tadasuke Makino Hitech 36.898
16  Jehan Daruvala Carlin 37.078
17  Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 39.948
18  Marino Sato Motopark 42.598
Ret  Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing -
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Zandvoort
Track Zandvoort
Drivers Callum Ilott
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report