Rosenqvist survives two restarts to win race 2 at Portimao

Felix Rosenqvist took the championship lead from Antonio Giovinazzi after scoring a confident victory in the second European F3 race at Portimao.

Having inherited pole after Alex Albon's exclusion, Rosenqvist managed a perfect getaway to lead from Jake Dennis, who passed the other two Prema drivers Lance Stroll and Nick Cassidy on the outside of Turn 1.

The Swede built a sizeable gap out front in just two laps but it evaporated when the safety car appeared due to the stopped cars of Matt Rao and Raoul Hyman.

The restart saw another good launch from Rosenqvist, with Dennis having to focus on keeping Stroll at bay.

On lap 12, the race was neutralised one more time after Cassidy's front wing went under his car and sent him into the gravel at Turn 1.

Another controlled restart and no mistakes from Rosenqvist allowed him to see the chequered flag first, ahead of Dennis and Stroll, who made up the first Prema 1-2-3 of 2015.

Gustavo Menezes secured fourth despite coming under massive pressure from teammate George Russell after the second restart and receiving a warning for changing directions while defending.

Pietro Fittipaldi broke into the top six for the first time this season, holding off the charges of Charles Leclerc.

Giovinazzi completed another low-key race in eighth, followed by Mucke duo Mikkel Jensen and Santino Ferrucci.

After his eighth victory of the season, Rosenqvist takes the championship lead from Giovinazzi and now holds a 13.5-point advantage over the Italian.

Pos Driver Team Time/Delay
1 Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 35'24.500
2 Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 1.005
3 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 4.357
4 Gustavo Menezes Carlin 10.783
5 George Russell Carlin 12.204
6 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 12.720
7 Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 13.207
8 Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 13.867
9 Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 14.646
10 Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 15.840
11 Markus Pommer Motopark 17.406
12 Alexander Albon Signature 17.816
13 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 19.129
14 Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 21.096
15 Alexander Sims Hitech GP 21.456
16 Dorian Boccolacci Signature 25.169
17 Sam MacLeod Motopark 26.230
18 Andy Chang Fortec 27.437
19 Julio Moreno T-Sport 27.809
20 Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 28.327
21 Ryan Tveter Carlin 28.729
22 Zhi Cong Li Fortec 29.165
23 Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 30.418
24 Matt Solomon Double R 30.507
25 Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 30.826
26 Callum Ilott Carlin 1 Lap
27 Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 1 Lap
Ret Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam  
Ret Matt Rao Fortec  
Ret Raoul Hyman West-Tec  
Ret Nabil Jeffri Motopark  
Ret Tatiana Calderon Carlin  


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Portimao
Sub-event Saturday race 2
Track Algarve International Circuit
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Jake Dennis , Lance Stroll
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report