Rosenqvist holds on from Giovinazzi for second Spielberg win

Felix Rosenqvist survived a late restart in the second of the weekend’s European Formula 3 races at Spielberg to record a seventh win of the year ahead of Antonio Giovinazzi.

Poleman Rosenqvist got the jump over the opposition at the start, leading Giovinazzi, who managed to repel the advances of Lance Stroll on the opening tour to hold his grid slot of second.

Giovinazzi wasted no time leaving Stroll behind thereafter, keeping Rosenqvist honest throughout the race – the gap between the top two hovering around the one-second mark for much of the distance.

That was until a late Safety Car period, caused by Ryan Tveter spinning and getting stuck in the gravel at Turn 4, which bunched the pack up once more.

But Rosenqvist executed the restart to perfection, easing clear of Giovinazzi in the remaining laps to take the chequered flag by 1.3 seconds and displace Charles Leclerc as the Italian’s nearest challenger in the points standings.

Stroll meanwhile kept Leclerc at bay to take his first podium of the season in third, with Alex Albon taking fifth ahead of Markus Pommer, who moved ahead of George Russell at the restart.

Race one winner Jake Dennis could do no better than eighth from his grid slot of 10th, ahead of Mikkel Jensen and Gustavo Menezes.

Sergio Sette Camara had also been firmly in the points in the early stages until his race was ruined by a drive-through penalty for a jump start.

The Brazilian recovered to 19th at the finish, two places ahead of Tatiana Calderon, who fought her way back from the rear of the field after being tagged into a spin by Arjun Maini on the second lap.

Not taking the start at all meanwhile was Brandon Maisano, the Frenchman parting ways with his Prema team before the start of the race.

Race results:

Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 35'55.558
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 1.312
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 2.740
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 3.845
Alexander Albon Signature 5.396
Markus Pommer Motopark 5.435
George Russell Carlin 7.011
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 7.379
Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 7.917
10  Gustavo Menezes Carlin 8.259
11  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 9.305
12  Callum Ilott Carlin 9.908
13  Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 10.632
14  Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 10.979
15  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 12.203
16  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 13.711
17  Dorian Boccolacci Signature 15.660
18  Andy Chang Fortec 15.978
19  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 16.393
20  Matt Solomon Double R Racing 17.141
21  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 17.558
22  Julio Moreno T-Sport 18.111
23  Zhi Cong Li Fortec 19.916
24  Matheus Leist Double R Racing 20.623
25  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 22.078
26  Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport 29.386
27  Fabian Schiller West-Tec 32.591
28  Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 39.025
29  Sam MacLeod Motopark 1 Lap
30  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 1 Lap
31  Matt Rao Fortec 2 Laps
32  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 2 Laps
Ret Ryan Tveter Carlin
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Spielberg
Track Red Bull Ring
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Antonio Giovinazzi , Lance Stroll
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report