Rosenqvist doubles up with second lights-to-flag victory at Portimao

Felix Rosenqvist scored his second European F3 win at Portimao, taking full advantage of a low-key outing for rivals Antonio Giovinazzi and Charles Leclerc to extend his championship lead to 34.5 points.

The start of race 3 was virtually identical to race 2 with Rosenqvist keeping the lead with ease and Jake Dennis forcing past Lance Stroll on the outside of Turn 1 to slot into second place.

Before the opening lap was over though, the safety car was already out due to an incident involving three cars, including Giovinazzi.

The collision was initiated by the Italian and Markus Pommer going side-by-side, the German forced off-track, losing momentum and being collected by Maximilian Gunther, with both drivers out of the race.

But at the front, it was all fair and square for the remainder of the race with Rosenqvist, Dennis and Stroll consistently showing better pace than the rest of the field to complete another all-Prema podium.

George Russell ended up more than 10 seconds adrift in fourth with Brazilians Sergio Sette Camara and Pietro Fittipaldi securing strong results behind the Briton.

Rosenqvist’s rivals Leclerc and Giovinazzi could not break into the top six and had to settle for seventh and eighth respectively as Nick Cassidy and Dorian Boccolacci claimed the last two point-scoring positions.

Pos Driver Team Time/Delay
1 Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 36'27.922
2 Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 1.168
3 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 6.049
4 George Russell Carlin 12.782
5 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 13.316
6 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 14.598
7 Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 16.436
8 Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 17.428
9 Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 19.148
10 Dorian Boccolacci Signature 24.243
11 Callum Ilott Carlin 26.031
12 Ryan Tveter Carlin 27.817
13 Alexander Sims Hitech GP 29.551
14 Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 36.573
15 Tatiana Calderon Carlin 37.589
16 Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 38.154
17 Julio Moreno T-Sport 42.139
18 Raoul Hyman West-Tec 43.118
19 Zhi Cong Li Fortec 49.663
20 Nabil Jeffri Motopark 57.901
21 Matt Rao Fortec 1'07.562
22 Matt Solomon Double R 1'09.569
23 Sam MacLeod Motopark 1 Lap
Ret Alexander Albon Signature  
Ret Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport  
Ret Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing  
Ret Andy Chang Fortec  
Ret Gustavo Menezes Carlin  
Ret Markus Pommer Motopark  
Ret Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport  


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Portimao
Sub-event Sunday race 3
Track Algarve Motor Park
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Jake Dennis , Lance Stroll
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report