Rosenqvist completes hat-trick in shortened Monza finale

Felix Rosenqvist took a third win from as many European Formula 3 races at Monza in a red-flagged finale that ended in bizarre circumstances.

Only 8 of the scheduled 19 laps were completed, ostensibly because of the race officials’ displeasure with driving standards throughout the field after two crash-filled races on Saturday.

An early Safety Car was deployed on the second lap when Ryan Tveter launched over the rear of Fabian Schiller at the first chicane at the start, the field given one more chance to behave themselves thereafter.

And sure enough, when Mikkel Jensen ended up in the gravel after contact with Lance Stroll at the chicane, the ensuing caution period metamorphosed into a race stoppage after a few laps of circulating behind the Safety Car.

Rosenqvist faultless again

With less than 75 percent race distance completed, Rosenqvist – who led from start to finish – picked up half-points for his fifth win of the season for the second time in succession, as the results from Saturday’s second race were later revised and half-points also awarded.

Jake Dennis provided the only real action of the race up front, beating Antonio Giovinazzi to the first corner for third before executing a superb outside pass on Charles Leclerc at the Roggia chicane to secure second behind Prema stablemate Rosenqvist.

Leclerc held on from Giovinazzi to complete the podium, with Brandon Maisano taking fifth at the expense of Gustavo Menezes after a spirited scrap with the American, who was promoted to fifth in the race two results by way of countback.

George Russell battled his way up to seventh ahead of Santino Ferrucci, with Stroll – unharmed after his enormous race two crash – and Maximilian Gunther completing the top 10.

Giovinazzi continues to lead the way in the drivers’ standings on 182 points, with Leclerc his nearest challenger on 165.5 and Rosenqvist firmly in the hunt after his triple victory on 160.

Race results:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 19m40.310
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 1.441
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 2.700
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 3.211
Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 4.184
Gustavo Menezes Carlin 4.745
George Russell Carlin 6.211
Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 7.365
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 8.077
10  Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 8.966
11  Markus Pommer Motopark 9.603
12  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 10.749
13  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 12.066
14  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 12.426
15  Callum Ilott Carlin 13.502
16  Martin Cao Fortec 13.949
17  Nicolas Pohler Double R Racing 14.578
18  Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 14.947
19  Artur Janosz Eurointernational 16.237
20  Matthew Solomon Double R Racing 17.348
21  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 18.063
22  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 19.175
23  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 20.643
24  Julio Moreno T-Sport 21.894
25  Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport 22.859
26  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 23.818
27  Sam MacLeod Motopark 49.121
Ret Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport  
Ret Fabian Schiller West-Tec  
Ret Ryan Tveter Carlin  


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Monza
Track Monza
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Antonio Giovinazzi , Jake Dennis , Brandon Maisano , Charles Leclerc
Article type Race report