Paul Ricard F3: Stroll leads Cassidy in first race of 2016

Lance Stroll kicked off his 2016 European Formula 3 campaign with a confident victory, heading Nick Cassidy by less than a second to form a Prema 1-2.

The Canadian led every lap of the lead except the very first one, having fallen behind Cassidy off the line.

However, he quickly recovered to retake the lead on Lap 2 and then slowly pulled away.

Although Cassidy slightly managed to close the gap towards the end, he had to settle for second, as the podium was rounded out by Hitech's George Russell.

The Briton passed Niko Kari at the start, the Finn making contact with fellow Red Bull junior Sergio Sette Camara, which saw the Brazilian drop to last.

Russell's Hitech teammate Ben Barnicoat ended up as top rookie in fourth, with Maximilian Gunther closely following him, the German recovering from eighth.

Motopark duo Joel Eriksson and Kari took sixth and eighth respectively, sandwiching the fourth Prema car of Ralf Aron.

Harrison Newey and Callum Ilott both made a couple of moves during the race to make up the top 10, the latter passing Pedro Piquet during the dying stages.

 Race 1 Results:

1  Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam -
2  Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 0.769
3  George Russell HitechGP 6.983
4  Ben Barnicoat HitechGP 8.615
5  Maximilian Gunther Prema Powerteam 9.202
6 Joel Eriksson Motopark 13.040
7 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam 13.453
8 Niko Kari Motopark 16.613
9 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing 19.159
10 Callum Ilott Van Amersfoort Racing 19.718
11 Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing 20.747
12 Alessio Lorandi Carlin 20.967
13 Mikkel Jensen kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport 24.008
14 Guan Yu Zhou Motopark 24.465
15 Ryan Tveter Carlin 27.726
16 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 34.218
17 Anthoine Hubert Van Amersfoort Racing 34.428
18 Raoul Hyman Carlin 36.478
19 Nikita Mazepin HitechGP 45.829
20 Zhi Cong Li Carlin 53.879
Ret Arjun Maini ThreeBond with T-Sport  

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Paul Ricard
Track Circuit Paul Ricard
Drivers Lance Stroll
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report