Paul Ricard F3: Ilott claims career-first victory in Race 2

Van Amersfoort driver Callum Ilott took his first European Formula 3 race victory in the second encounter of Paul Ricard weekend from sixth on the grid.

The Briton was up to second after a crash involving several cars at the start, and then passed Nick Cassidy to claim the lead.

Polesitter Maximilian Gunther was among the victims of the incident, joining Race 1 winner Lance Stroll, Ben Barnicoat, and Harrison Newey on the retirement list.

Being the only Prema car to avoid the carnage, Cassidy was into the lead off the line and he was able to stay ahead on the restart of the inevitable safety car stint.

He managed to build a lead of a second from, Ilott with Guan Yu Zhou overtaking Mikkel Jensen to stand in third.

However, Cassidy failed to maintain first as he gave away two positions with a mistake, handing Ilott the lead.

The Briton was set to cruise to the finish but the race was once again interrupted by safety car as Ralf Aron, who managed to get going after the start accident, spun out after losing a wheel.

Only time for one lap, Ilott nailed the restart and comfortably cruised to the finish.

Cassidy managed to overtake Zhou during the lap's opening sequence of corners to salvage second, with Jensen finishing fourth.

French driver Anthoine Hubert spent the race running fifth but lost three positions on the final lap, settling for eighth.

Red Bull junior Sergio Sette Camara secured fifth as a result, just ahead of Carlin duo of Alessio Lorandi and Ryan Tveter.

Eriksson recovered after dropping down the order at the start to take ninth as Raoul Hyman took the final points-scoring position.

George Russell narrowly lost out on a top 10 finish despite starting last after his exclusion from yesterday's second qualifying.

UPDATE: Barnicoat received a five-place grid penalty in Race 3 for causing the start incident.

Race 2 Results:

1  Callum Ilott Van Amersfoort Racing -
2  Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 1.247
3  Guan Yu Zhou Motopark 1.840
4  Mikkel Jensen kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport 2.461
5  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 4.408
6  Alessio Lorandi Carlin 4.534
7  Ryan Tveter Carlin 5.094
8  Anthoine Hubert Van Amersfoort Racing 5.098
9  Joel Eriksson Motopark 5.222
10  Raoul Hyman Carlin 5.669
11  George Russell HitechGP 5.845
12  Nikita Mazepin HitechGP 6.855
13  Arjun Maini ThreeBond with T-Sport 7.620
14  Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing 9.762
15  Zhi Cong Li Carlin 15.533
16  Niko Kari Motopark 18.238
Ret  Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam  
Ret  Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam  
Ret  Maximilian Gunther Prema Powerteam  
Ret  Ben Barnicoat HitechGP  
Ret  Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Paul Ricard
Track Circuit Paul Ricard
Drivers Callum Ilott
Teams Van Amersfoort Racing
Article type Race report