Nurburgring F3: Rosenqvist takes title with fifth consecutive victory

Prema Powerteam's Felix Rosenqvist became the 2015 European F3 champion with a round to spare after winning a carnage-filled third race at the Nurburgring.

The Swede needed to outscore Antonio Giovinazzi by 10 points while maintaining his gap over Charles Leclerc to be crowned early.

And his task became much easier at the start when Giovinazzi picked up damage in a collision with Mikkel Jensen.

As Rosenqvist kept the lead off the line, Giovinazzi passed Jake Dennis for third, but was tagged by an out-of-control Jensen.

The Italian soldiered on through the first few corners, but went straight on at the hairpin and proceeded to limp back to the pitlane.

With the chaos out front setting up a Prema 1-2-3-4, returnee Nicolas Pohler then crashed with Alessio Lorandi to bring out an early safety car.

A second safety car followed a few laps later after Matt Rao was unable to avoid a sideways Sam MacLeod on corner exit.

On lap 11, a late lunge from Dorian Boccolacci on Ryan Tveter into Turn 1 made it a hat-trick of stoppages as the Frenchman pulled over to the side.

And the next green flag stint lasted less than a lap, with Lorandi and Tatiana Calderon coming to blows in the final corner and ending up in the gravel at high speed.

With the timer ticking down during the numerous safety car periods, only a minute was left on the clock when the race restarted for the fourth time.

And Rosenqvist eased through the solitary remaining lap to clinch the win and the title with it.

Lance Stroll finished as runner-up, recording his best result of the season, while Nick Cassidy and Dennis made up an all-Prema top four.

Leclerc was best of the rest in fifth, ahead of Markus Pommer and Santino Ferrucci, who had passed Callum Ilott in one of the short green-flag stints.

The top 10 was completed by Sergio Sette Camara and George Russell.

Race results:

Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 35'25.406
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 0.900
Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 1.663
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 2.418
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 3.186
Markus Pommer Motopark 3.718
Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 4.377
Callum Ilott Carlin 5.257
Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 5.654
10  George Russell Carlin 6.473
11  Alexander Albon Signature 7.003
12  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 8.394
13  Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 8.663
14  Gustavo Menezes Carlin 9.197
15  Félix Serralles Mucke Motorsport 9.593
16  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 10.608
17  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 10.614
18  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 10.954
19  Matt Solomon Double R Racing 11.320
20  Zhi Cong Li Fortec 12.003
21  Ryan Tveter Carlin 12.377
22  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 12.488
23  Harald Schlegelmilch Artline Engineering 13.281
Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing  
Tatiana Calderon Carlin  
Dorian Boccolacci Signature  
Raoul Hyman West-Tec  
Sam MacLeod Motopark  
Matt Rao Fortec  
Nicolas Pohler Double R Racing  
Julio Moreno T-Sport  
Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport  
Andy Chang Fortec  


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Nürburgring
Track Nurburgring
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Nick Cassidy , Jake Dennis , Lance Stroll
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report