Nurburgring F3: Rosenqvist maintains top form with pole for first race

European Formula 3 championship leader Felix Rosenqvist emerged quickest in the first qualifying session of the penultimate round at the Nurburgring, as his three remaining title rivals struggled.

F3 veteran Rosenqvist had finished runner-up at the German venue on three occasions in F3, but has never won before - although the Swede will have a great chance to rectify that in the upcoming first race.

Callum Ilott, who topped the first free practice earlier today, headed the 20-minute qualifying session at halfway, before Charles Leclerc became the first driver to dip into the 1m21s range.

But the championship-leading Prema team moved to the forefront soon enough. First, Rosenqvist took three tenths out of Leclerc's time, only to have his own benchmark improved on by Nick Cassidy.

However, the Swede took little time to respond, returning to the lead for good a couple of minutes after and then cementing his pole with a 1m21.126s.

Cassidy wound up third, with George Russell splitting the Prema duo as runner-up.

Ilott, meanwhile, ended up fourth, with Rosenqvist's championship rivals Jake Dennis, Leclerc and Antonio Giovinazzi taking spots between fifth and seventh.

Mucke's Mikkel Jensen posted a last-second improvement and moved to within 0.003s of Giovinazzi, but had to do with eighth.

Motopark duo Markus Pommer and Sergio Sette Camara completed the provisional top 10.

F3 returnee Felix Serralles was 24th for Mucke, while Latvian racer Harald Schlegelmilch, representing the new Artline squad on its debut, propped up the field 4.76s off the pace in 33rd.

Pos. Driver Team Time Delay
1 Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 1'21.126  
2 George Russell Carlin 1'21.278 0.152
3 Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 1'21.379 0.253
4 Callum Ilott Carlin 1'21.440 0.314
5 Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 1'21.483 0.357
6 Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort 1'21.532 0.406
7 Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 1'21.653 0.527
8 Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 1'21.656 0.530
9 Markus Pommer Motopark 1'21.745 0.619
10 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 1'21.749 0.623
11 Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort 1'21.749 0.623
12 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1'21.821 0.695
13 Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 1'21.936 0.810
14 Alexander Albon Signature 1'21.970 0.844
15 Nabil Jeffri Motopark 1'21.993 0.867
16 Raoul Hyman West-Tec 1'21.995 0.869
17 Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort 1'22.016 0.890
18 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 1'22.087 0.961
19 Gustavo Menezes Carlin 1'22.178 1.052
20 Dorian Boccolacci Signature 1'22.179 1.053
21 Ryan Tveter Carlin 1'22.251 1.125
22 Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 1'22.259 1.133
23 Sam MacLeod Motopark 1'22.300 1.174
24 Felix Serralles Mucke Motorsport 1'22.408 1.282
25 Tatiana Calderon Carlin 1'22.470 1.344
26 Matt Solomon Double R 1'22.520 1.394
27 Zhi Cong Li Fortec 1'22.588 1.462
28 Andy Chang Fortec 1'22.667 1.541
29 Matt Rao Fortec 1'22.716 1.590
30 Julio Moreno T-Sport 1'22.833 1.707
31 Nicolas Pohler Double R 1'23.180 2.054
32 Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 1'23.678 2.552
33 Harald Schlegelmilch Artline 1'25.887 4.761

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Nürburgring
Track Nurburgring
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Nick Cassidy , George Russell
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Qualifying report