Nurburgring F3: Rosenqvist eases to victory as rivals collide

Felix Rosenqvist converted the first of his three pole positions into a victory at the Nurburgring, extending his championship lead as his three title rivals made contact at the start.

Rosenqvist had a good getaway off the line, arriving at Turn 1 unchallenged ahead of fellow front row starter and Prema teammate Nick Cassidy.

Behind the duo, Charles Leclerc made small contact with the fast-starting Jake Dennis, which sent the latter into Antonio Giovinazzi and caused the Italian to run wide and drop to 11th.

Moreover, Dennis suffered damage and was forced to pit for a new front wing, only to retire a couple of laps later.

That allowed Callum Ilott to maintain his grid position of third, and the Red Bull junior managed to keep up with the Prema duo of Rosenqvist and Cassidy as the trio quickly pulled away from Leclerc.

The Monegasque, having potentially damaged his car at the start, was a second off the leader’s pace on average and had to fend off a train of six cars led by Mikkel Jensen.

But at the front, there was no further drama, with Rosenqvist taking the victory ahead of Cassidy and Ilott as both drivers celebrated their first podium finishes in the series.

Although Jensen made an unsuccessful overtaking attempt early in the race, he was unable to get close enough for another go, allowing Leclerc to secure fourth.

The Mucke driver finished fifth, marking the German team’s return to the top five for the first time since June, followed by Markus Pommer, Santino Ferrucci and Arjun Maini.

Ferrari junior Lance Stroll gained three positions to end up ninth, with Masters of F3 winner Giovinazzi taking the final point-scoring position following a move on Sergio Sette Camara.

George Russell, who lost his second grid position after a 10-place penalty for an engine change, finished 13th behind Alex Albon.

Following his 10th victory of the season, Rosenqvist extended his championship lead to 58.5 points - the Swede has to gain a further 16.5 points on Giovinazzi in order to leave the Nurburgring with the title.

Race results:

Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 34'07.623
Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 6.491
Callum Ilott Carlin 7.764
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 36.405
Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 36.525
Markus Pommer Motopark 36.992
Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 37.860
Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 38.337
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 38.878
10  Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 39.326
11  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 42.423
12  Alexander Albon Signature 43.019
13  George Russell Carlin 43.391
14  Gustavo Menezes Carlin 48.009
15  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 48.650
16  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 50.497
17  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 51.408
18  Felix Serralles Mucke Motorsport 52.835
19  Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 53.331
20  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 55.800
21  Dorian Boccolacci Signature 56.324
22  Matt Rao Fortec 1'00.815
23  Sam MacLeod Motopark 1'02.272
24  Ryan Tveter Carlin 1'02.638
25  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 1'03.046
26  Andy Chang Fortec 1'03.739
27  Zhi Cong Li Fortec 1'05.029
28  Matt Solomon Double R Racing 1'05.895
29  Julio Moreno T-Sport 1'06.825
30  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 1'16.701
31  Nicolas Pohler Double R Racing 1'19.712
32  H.Schlegelmilch Artline Engineering 1 Lap
Ret Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam -
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Nürburgring
Track Nürburgring
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Nick Cassidy , Callum Ilott
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report