Hockenheim F3: Stroll holds off Dennis for maiden win

Lance Stroll took a straightforward maiden European Formula 3 victory in the opening race of the weekend at Hockenheim, heading up an all Prema-top four.

The Canadian youngster started from third on the grid behind teammates Felix Rosenqvist and Maximilian Gunther, but picked off the latter off the line as the new Prema arrival made a poor start.

Later on the first lap, Stroll dived up the inside of Rosenqvist to take a lead he would never lose at Mercedes-Arena, shortly before a Safety Car was called following a number of clashes lower down the order.

When the race resumed, Stroll wasted no time in establishing a cushion out front, as Jake Dennis, up to third behind the Safety Car ahead of Gunther, began to pressure Rosenqvist.

The Brit moved ahead of the new series champion at the hairpin, before closing the gap to Stroll in the following laps.

But the Ferrari protégé had enough pace in hand to hold off Dennis, securing his first European F3 win by a final margin of 0.9s as Rosenqvist rounded off the podium finishers.

Gunther made it four Prema cars in the top four, with Hitech’s Alexander Sims the best of the rest in fifth after diving up the inside of lead Carlin man Antonio Giovinazzi at the Mercedes-Arena at two-thirds distance.

George Russell (Carlin) got the better of rookie champion Charles Leclerc (Van Amersfoort) in their fight for seventh, with local driver Markus Pommer (Motopark) and Santino Ferrucci (Mucke) completing the top 10.

Signature’s Alex Albon just missed out on a spot in the top 10, but took a point as part-timer Sims is ineligible to score points, while Callum Ilott (Carlin) charged through the field from his P32 grid slot to take 15th at the chequered flag in an impressive drive.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Delay
1 Lance Stroll Prema 35'48.561
2 Jake Dennis Prema 0.898
3 Felix Rosenqvist Prema 1.674
4 Maximilian Gunther Prema 3.784
5 Alexander Sims Hitech 6.192
6 Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 7.267
7 George Russell Carlin 9.438
8 Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort 10.072
9 Markus Pommer Motopark 11.929
10 Santino Ferrucci Mucke 15.569
11 Alexander Albon Signature 16.941
12 Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort 17.842
13 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 21.785
14 Michele Beretta Mucke 25.379
15 Callum Ilott Carlin 25.714
16 Ryan Tveter Carlin 26.276
17 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 29.506
18 Tatiana Calderon Carlin 34.280
19 Mikkel Jensen Mucke 34.992
20 Gustavo Menezes Carlin 36.131
21 Nabil Jeffri Motopark 40.108
22 Nicolas Pohler Double R 50.873
23 Matt Rao Fortec 53.937
24 Julio Moreno T-Sport 54.876
25 Tanart Sathienthirakul Motopark 55.616
26 Matt Solomon Double R 56.453
27 Marvin Dienst ArtLine 1'05.952
28 Harald Schlegelmilch ArtLine 1'14.372
29 Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort 1'25.093
30 Dorian Boccolacci Signature 2 Laps
Ret Raoul Hyman West-Tec  
Ret Zhi Cong Li Fortec  
Ret Andy Chang Fortec  


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Hockenheim II
Track Hockenheim
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Jake Dennis , Lance Stroll
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report