Giovinazzi wins rain-curtailed Spielberg finale

Antonio Giovinazzi stretched his European Formula 3 points lead after being declared the winner of a third and final Spielberg race curtailed by torrential rain.

The inclement weather had already delayed the start of the race from its original timeslot of 11.45 local time to 13.25, with the field getting under way behind the Safety Car in grid order.

That meant points leader Giovinazzi led away from nearest pursuer Felix Rosenqvist, ahead of Motopark duo Sergio Sette Camara and Markus Pommer, Ferrari protege Lance Stroll and title contender Charles Leclerc, with red flags shown on the fourth lap as conditions failed to improve.

The pack formed up on the grid once again, where they remained for some 20 minutes before the race resumed behind the Safety Car for a further three minutes - until the red flags were shown again and a result declared with half-points awarded.

Giovinazzi moves to 333.5 points, picking up 12.5 for his fifth win of the year, 20.5 clear of Rosenqvist in second and 29 ahead of Leclerc in third.

Race results:

Pos. Driver  Team Time/Gap
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 10'01.772
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 1.347
Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 2.624
Markus Pommer Motopark 4.403
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 6.389
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 7.568
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 11.657
Alexander Albon Signature 12.424
George Russell Carlin 15.722
10  Callum Ilott Carlin 16.765
11  Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 20.763
12  Gustavo Menezes Carlin 21.703
13  Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 25.497
14  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 27.982
15  Sam MacLeod Motopark 33.194
16  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 39.684
17  Dorian Boccolacci Signature -
18  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport -
19  Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport -
20  Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing -
21  Nabil Jeffri Motopark -
22  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing -
23  Andy Chang Fortec -
24  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec -
25  Matt Rao Fortec -
26  Matt Solomon Double R Racing -
27  Matheus Leist Double R Racing -
28  Fabian Schiller West-Tec -
29  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark -
30  Zhi Cong Li Fortec -
31  Julio Moreno T-Sport -
32  Ryan Tveter Carlin -
Ret Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport -


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Spielberg
Track Red Bull Ring
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Antonio Giovinazzi , Sergio Sette Camara
Article type Race report