Giovinazzi takes commanding win in Norisring finale

Antonio Giovinazzi dominated the final European Formula 3 race of the weekend at the Norisring, eating into the points advantage of Charles Leclerc in the process.

The Italian made a blistering start from third on the grid to lead at the start, and controlled three safety car restarts to perfection to record his third victory of the season and boost his title bid.

A three way battle for second was resolved in favour of George Russell, who held off the attacks of poleman Alex Albon and Charles Leclerc for much of the latter portion of race, the trio split by just six tenths at the line with Giovinazzi 1.3s up the road.

At the first restart after the safety car was brought out when Sam MacLeod collecting Matt Solomon’s stalled car on the grid, Leclerc ran wide at the first hairpin, dropping him from third to fifth behind Giovinazzi, Russell, Albon and Jake Dennis.

The Brit then began a steady descent through the field as he struggled for grip, Leclerc going around the outside at the first hairpin after the second safety car period, caused by Gustavo Menezes clattering into Sergio Sette Camara and race two victor Maximilian Gunther at the same corner.

Dorian Boccolacci then shoved wide Dennis in an audacious move at the first corner to move into fifth, although the Frenchman then became embroiled in a battle with Mucke teammates Santino Ferrucci and Mikkel Jensen in the latter stages.

After the third and final safety car period, the result of a clash between Nabil Jeffri and Matt Rao at turn 1, Jensen was able to battle his way up to fifth, where he would remain, as Boccolacci slipped behind Ferrucci and Callum Ilott when he was ran wide by the American at the Esses.

Alessio Lorandi and Brandon Maisano completed the scorers, Dennis sinking to P11 in the final reckoning, while Felix Rosenqvist could do no better than 13th after a poor start from his P8 grid slot.

Race results:

 Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 35'31.646
George Russell Carlin 1.340
Alexander Albon Signature 1.592
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 1.912
Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 5.830
Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 8.423
Callum Ilott Carlin 8.902
Dorian Boccolacci Signature 9.701
Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 9.915
10  Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 11.223
11  Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 11.416
12  Markus Pommer Motopark 11.749
13  Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 12.171
14  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 12.783
15  Fabian Schiller West-Tec 14.700
16  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 15.838
17  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 16.153
18  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 18.427
19  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 19.499
20  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 19.666
21  Ryan Tveter Carlin 19.896
22  Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport 20.146
23  Julio Moreno T-Sport 21.450
24  Nicolas Pohler Double R Racing 25.399
25  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 25.965
26  Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1 lap
Ret Matt Rao Fortec  
Ret Nabil Jeffri Motopark  
Ret Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport  
Ret Gustavo Menezes Carlin  
Ret Sam MacLeod Motopark  
Ret Matt Solomon Double R Racing  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Norisring
Track Norisring
Drivers Antonio Giovinazzi , George Russell , Charles Leclerc , Alexander Albon
Teams Carlin
Article type Race report