European F3 confirms 24-car grid for 2016

The FIA has revealed a 24-car entry list for the forthcoming European Formula 3 season, representing a drop of nine cars from the end of last year.

Series organisers had pushed back the original entry deadline by two weeks after only 24 of the originally confirmed 39 entries were submitted in time.

However, the FIA has now unveiled a final entry list of 24 cars, with Prema Powerteam, Carlin, Van Amersfoort, Motopark and Hitech running four cars apiece, and Mucke Motorsport and T-Sport running two cars each.

Of those, three seats have yet to be confirmed, with Carlin, Hitech and T-Sport all still having a vacancy each - the latter seeking a driver for its NBE-powered entry alongside Arjun Maini's ThreeBond-engined car.

The entry list confirms the exit of four teams that participated in last year's series: West-Tec, Fortec, Double R and Signature.

DAV Racing, which announced its 2016 entry at the end of last year, is also absent from the entry list.

The first two days of the new season's pre-season testing will be held at Vallelunga on the 3rd and 4th of March.

2016 European F3 line-up so far:

Team Drivers
Prema Powerteam

 Lance Stroll

 Ralf Aron

 Maximilian Gunther

 Nick Cassidy

Van Amersfoort Racing

 Pedro Piquet

 Callum Ilott

 Harrison Newey

 Anthoine Hubert


 Ryan Tveter

 Alessio Lorandi

 Peter Li Zhi Cong


Mucke Motorsport

 David Beckmann

 Mikkel Jensen


 Niko Kari

 Sergio Sette Camara

 Joel Eriksson

 Guan Yu Zhou

Hitech GP

 George Russell

 Nikita Mazepin

 Ben Barnicoat



 Arjun Maini



Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Article type Breaking news