Dennis scores race 1 victory at Portimao

Prema's Jake Dennis was victorious in the first European F3 race of the weekend at Portimao, decreasing the points gap between himself and the current championship contenders.

Having lined up first on the grid, Dennis got a good getaway to stay ahead, stretched his lead to two seconds in just a couple of laps and cruised to the chequered flag without putting a foot wrong.

But the race proved a complete opposite for his teammate and fellow front-row starter Nick Cassidy, who found himself outside the top 20 off the line and suffered a broken suspension following a collision with Callum Ilott in the penultimate lap.

Alex Albon, who lost his pole position for race 2 this morning, jumped into second from fifth on the grid and would go on to cross the finish line three seconds behind the winner.

Another fast-starting driver Felix Rosenqvist completing the podium to narrow Antonio Giovinazzi’s championship lead down to 7.5 points, the Italian himself bringing the car home in ninth place.

Lance Stroll delivered a third Prema car into the top four but was unable to keep up with those ahead of him, while Motopark’s Markus Pommer kept Charles Leclerc at bay for fifth.

Santino Ferrucci overtook Mucke teammate Mikkel Jensen to secure seventh as George Russell completed the top 10 behind teammate Giovinazzi.

Pos Driver Team Time/Delay
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam
Alexander Albon Signature 3.688
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 4.260
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 9.791
Markus Pommer Motopark 12.196
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 12.753
Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport
Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport
Antonio Giovinazzi
Carlin 20.584
10  George Russell Carlin 25.480
11  Sergio Sette Camara
Motopark 26.825
12  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 27.532
13  Sam MacLeod Motopark 28.166
14  Maximilian Gunther
Mucke Motorsport 32.856
15  Gustavo Menezes Carlin 37.675
16  Callum Ilott Carlin 37.742
17  Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 38.810
18  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 42.001
19  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 45.671
20  Alexander Sims Hitech GP
21  Matt Solomon Double R 46.839
22  Dorian Boccolacci
Signature 47.773
23  Ryan Tveter Carlin 53.641
24  Andy Chang Fortec 57.270
25  Matt Rao Fortec 1'02.558
26  Zhi Cong Li Fortec 1'04.212
27  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 1'19.814
28  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing
29  Tatiana Calderon
Carlin 1'23.366
30  Mahaveer Raghunathan
Motopark 1'24.432
31  Julio Moreno T-Sport  1 Lap
32  Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 2 Laps


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Portimao
Sub-event Saturday race 1
Track Algarve Motor Park
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Jake Dennis , Alexander Albon
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report