Dennis beats Rosenqvist to win Spielberg opener

Jake Dennis got the better of Prema teammate Felix Rosenqvist to take victory in the first European Formula 3 race of the weekend at Spielberg, his fifth of the season.

Starting from second on the grid alongside polesitter Rosenqvist, Dennis made a superior getaway as the lights went out at the start to seize an early lead.

Rosenqvist proceeded to shadow the Briton closely, staying within half a second of Dennis, but struggled to find any opportunity to set up a pass until the closing stages.

Dennis was forced to defend at Turn 3 on the penultimate lap as Rosenqvist attacked, but the Brit hung on, with Rosenqvist unable to find a way through on the final lap as third place man Antonio Giovinazzi closed up and allowed Dennis breathing space out front.

Points leader Giovinazzi got ahead of Lance Stroll at the start to take third, edging away from the Canadian over the course of the race but not getting close enough to challenge Prema duo Dennis and Rosenqvist until the final tours.

Stroll equalled his best finish of the year with fourth after absorbing race-long pressure from George Russell, who moved up from seventh on the grid with a good start.

Charles Leclerc on the other hand dropped from fifth to seventh at the start, passing Alex Albon to take sixth and running out of time to catch Stroll and Russell ahead.

Gustavo Menezes, Sergio Sette Camara and Mikkel Jensen completed the scorers, while Zandvoort race three winner Markus Pommer made a woeful getaway from his grid slot of ninth, battling his way up from the back of the field to an eventual 17th place.

Race results:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 34'20.242
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 0.668
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 1.180
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 3.139
George Russell Carlin 3.999
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 5.298
Alexander Albon Signature 7.658
Gustavo Menezes Carlin 9.429
Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 15.318
10  Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 16.244
11  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 19.394
12  Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 21.157
13  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 23.171
14  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 24.204
15  Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 26.819
16  Dorian Boccolacci Signature 27.280
17  Markus Pommer Motopark 29.552
18  Sam MacLeod Motopark 30.979
19  Fabian Schiller West-Tec 37.319
20  Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 37.837
21  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 38.013
22  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 39.094
23  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 41.718
24  Andy Chang Fortec 42.763
25  Matt Rao Fortec 44.991
26  Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 47.100
27  Matheus Leist Double R Racing 48.259
28  Julio Moreno T-Sport 48.745
29  Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport 50.580
30  Callum Ilott Carlin 1'06.313
31  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 1'06.852
32  Zhi Cong Li Fortec 1'07.108
NC  Ryan Tveter Carlin 9 Laps
Ret  Matt Solomon Double R Racing -
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Spielberg
Track Red Bull Ring
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Antonio Giovinazzi , Jake Dennis
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Race report