Albon secures maiden F3 poles at the Norisring

Alex Albon emerged from a hotly contested second qualifying session at the Norisring with two pole positions, his first as a European Formula 3 driver.

The Signature driver set the quickest lap of the weekend, a 48.099s, to top his qualifying group and beat race one polesitter Charles Leclerc to the top spot for the second race around the streets of Nuremberg on Saturday.

Leclerc smashed through the target set by George Russell in the first part of the session, a 48.353s, to go quickest, but couldn’t respond to the red-hot pace of Albon when it mattered, falling short by 0.196s.

The British-born Thai driver’s second quickest time, a 48.227s, was also good enough to take pole in Sunday’s third race by a margin of 0.078s.

Russell, who beat compatriot Jake Dennis and Albon’s teammate Dorian Boccolacci to honours in the earlier group, will start from the front row for both races, also setting the fastest second best time.

Points leader Leclerc will start race two from third ahead of Dennis and Antonio Giovinazzi, who swaps places with the Van Amersfoort driver for race three with a superior second quickest time.

Boccolacci starts sixth in both encounters, ahead of Santino Ferrucci, Gustavo Menezes – back after his terrifying Spa crash – Mikkel Jensen and Brandon Maisano in race two.

The rest of the top 10 for Sunday’s finale is made up by Ferrucci, Maisano, Felix Rosenqvist, who starts P11 for race two, and Maximilian Gunther.

Group B (odd numbers):

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
Alexander Albon Signature 48.099  
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 48.295 0.196
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 48.302 0.203
Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 48.353 0.254
Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 48.412 0.313
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 48.424 0.325
Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 48.482 0.383
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 48.540 0.441
Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 48.547 0.448
10  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 48.645 0.546
11  Fabian Schiller West-Tec 48.786 0.687
12  Matt Solomon Double R Racing 48.791 0.692
13  Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport 48.807 0.708
14  Matt Rao Fortec 49.114 1.015
15  Julio Moreno T-Sport 49.148 1.049
16  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 49.474 1.375

Group A (even numbers):

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
George Russell Carlin 48.353  
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 48.372 0.019
Dorian Boccolacci Signature 48.384 0.031
Gustavo Menezes Carlin 48.491 0.138
Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 48.515 0.162
Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 48.518 0.165
Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 48.556 0.203
Callum Ilott Carlin 48.559 0.206
Markus Pommer Motopark 48.581 0.228
10  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 48.671 0.318
11  Ryan Tveter Carlin 48.681 0.328
12  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 48.782 0.429
13  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 48.909 0.556
14  Sam MacLeod Motopark 48.919 0.566
15  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 48.940 0.587
16  Nicolas Pohler Double R Racing 49.352 0.999
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Norisring
Track Norisring
Drivers Antonio Giovinazzi , Jake Dennis , George Russell , Charles Leclerc , Alexander Albon
Article type Qualifying report