Timmy Hill dominates 2014 iRacing Pro Race of Champions

NASCAR driver Timmy Hill took a commanding victory in the fourth edition of the event.

In the fourth annual iRacing Pro Race of Champions, NASCAR's own Timmy Hill dominated the 50 lap sprint race. It was quite an event with quite a bit of carnage.

Early on, 2013 winner Philipp Eng fell out of the race after making contact with the wall. The Austrian is fresh off of being crowned the 2014 Porsche Carrera Cup champion in Germany. As we neared lap 18, Scott Speed was trying to chase down the leader when he fell out of the race himself.

His exit from the race allowed Hill some breathing room in what was already a solid advantage before Speed's misfortune. 2014 V8 Supercar championship runner-up Shane Van Gisbergen moved into second, but he was no match for Hill at Iowa Speedway tonight.

Lap 39 incident and race results

On the 30th lap, our leader had a bit of a scare, narrowly avoiding a car that was up against the outside wall. The biggest drama of the race had to be on ap 39 though. Frank Kimmel's son was attempting to move past Van Gisbergen when the two made contact out of turn four. They, along with Michael Self went spinning, clearing a path for Alex Gurney to jump all three.

With a lead now reaching 14 seconds, Hill went into cruise control and just maintained that gap, winning by 13.986 seconds over the two-time Grand-Am DP champion. Michael Self was able to recover from that incident and finish a strong third, followed by Van Gisbergen in fourth and the young Kimmel in fifth.

The remainder of the top ten was filled by Nick Tandy, Townsend Bell, Patrick Long, Mitchell Dejong, and Dominic Cicero. You'll notice a handful of popular road racing aces up inside that top ten.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series eSports
Drivers Alex Gurney , Frank Kimmel , Townsend Bell , Scott Speed , Patrick Long , Dominic Cicero , Shane van Gisbergen , Philipp Eng , Nick Tandy , Michael Self , Timmy Hill
Article type Breaking news
Tags iowa speedway, iracing, pro race of champions