Reynolds spearheads Erebus Bathurst 12 Hour assault

Reynolds spearheads Erebus Bathurst 12 Hour assault
Dec 6, 2018, 8:13 PM

David Reynolds will race an Erebus Motorsport-run Mercedes at the Bathurst 12 Hour next February along with Luke Youlden and Yasser Shahin.

Reynolds and Youlden, the 2017 Bathurst 1000 winners, will team up with Shahin in what will be a Pro-Am entry backed by the Shahin family's The Bend circuit in South Australia.

The car will be prepped by Scott Taylor Motorsport, before Erebus takes over the running of the car for the Mount Panorama enduro next February.

The Supercars squad is not stranger to the 12 Hour either, having won it in 2013 with Thomas Jager, Alesander Roloff and Bernd Schneider.

It also finished third a year later with Greg Crick, Will Davison and Jack Le Brocq, followed by fifth place finishes in 2015 and 2016 before taking a two-year break.

Read Also:

“The event holds a special place in the hearts of our team," said Erebus CEO Barry Ryan. "It was the stage of our first big victory and somewhere we never finished outside the top five.

“We always go there with high expectations; we want to push for the Pro-Am victory, but with the speed Yasser shows as an amateur driver, also give the outright victory a go.”

Reynolds agreed that the driver line-up is a handy one, given Youlden's pace in GT3 hardware.

“It’s great to be back at Bathurst with Luke and the team and even though it’s a different race and different car [to the 1000], we share great memories,” he said.

“Luke drives those cars very well and last year was one of the fastest in the Shootout. I’ve seen Yasser drive and he drives very well to so I’m looking forward to it.”

Reynolds has made a 12 Hour start for Erebus before, finishing fifth with Nico Bastian and Jager in 2016.

Next article
Tickford deal progress not failure, says 23Red boss

Previous article

Tickford deal progress not failure, says 23Red boss

Next article

Mustang no quick fix for Tickford

Mustang no quick fix for Tickford
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars , Endurance
Drivers Luke Youlden , David Reynolds
Teams Erebus Motorsport
Author Andrew van Leeuwen