Impressive entry list for 2015 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour

Green flag falls at Mount Panorama February 8.

A grid that will rival any major GT endurance race in the world will feature in the 2015 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour next February, at the iconic Mount Panorama circuit in Bathurst, New South Wales.

Event organisers have today released the final entry list for the February 6-8 Event which includes 55 cars and a diverse mix of the best GT cars, teams and drivers from Australia and the world.

The entry list released today represents all teams to have properly completed the entry process by lodging a completed form, along with the required entry fee, by the closing time on Thursday, December 11.

The 30 cars currently entered in the outright class represent nine of the top GT3 brands with defending champions Ferrari, Mercedes-Benz, Lamborghini, Audi, Porsche, Nissan, McLaren, Bentley and Aston Martin all entered for a shot at an outright victory.

The outright class is the strongest ever for the 12-hour with the 2015 grid likely to represent a substantial increase on the 2014 field.

Entries were received from 10 countries in total, including five from New Zealand, three each from Germany and the United Kingdom and two from the United States.

NSW Deputy Premier and Minister for Tourism and Major Events Troy Grant said, “I am delighted by the field announced for next year’s Bathurst 12 Hour, which confirms the international appeal and prestige of Australia’s longest endurance motor race and the iconic Mount Panorama circuit on which it is held.”

“The NSW Government is proud to support the Bathurst 12 Hour through our tourism and major events agency Destination NSW, as part of an outstanding calendar of motorsport events for the State in 2015, and a key event for Regional NSW,” he said.

20 entries from overseas

17 different brands and 22 different models are represented on the entry list with 20 cars travelling from overseas to be part of the race. With 12 entries Porsche is the most represented brand (thanks to their 10 nominations in class B) while Ferrari have seven 458 GT3s entered in Class A – the most for any one brand in the outright category.

Six Audi R8 LMSs and five Mercedes Benz SLS AMGs give the German brands plenty of firepower to compete against the defending Bathurst winners.

43 entries have been accepted from the three GT classes eligible for the race, the largest grid of pure GT cars assembled in Australia.

A further 12 cars will compete in a pair of invitational classes, one for production-based vehicles like BMWs 1M and the Audi TT, and another for endurance-racing specials like the Australian designed and built MARC Focus racers and a pair of unique ex-Grand Am series Mazda RX8 GT cars originally from America.

Though final driver pairings are yet to be confirmed for a majority of entrants, the field will certainly not be lacking star power.

Former LeMans winner David Brabham headlines an incredible array of driving talent already confirmed that includes works Porsche ace Patrick Long, former F1 drivers Mika Salo (the defending winner) and Markus Winkelhock, and a host of the world’s best current GT stars like Laurens Vanthoor and Rene Rast, plus former British Touring Car Champion Gordon Shedden.

Felix Baumgartner, the extreme athlete who in 2012 set world records after skydiving from nearly 40km above the Earth, will race an Audi R8 LMS with Phoenix Racing.

Triple Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour winner John Bowe will also return to defend his crown, teaming with Brabham and Peter Edwards in the Flying B Racing Bentley Continental GT3.

The 2015 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour will commence at 5:50am on Sunday, February 8, 2015.

For the first time the entire race will be broadcast live around Australia on the Seven Network, with the first eight hours live on 7mate and the closing stages on the primary 7 channel.

International fans will continue to have complete access to the race via live streaming available on the Bathurst 12 Hour website.

The Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour 2015 is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency Destination NSW.

For more information about the 2015 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour please visit

Bathurst 12 Hour

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Endurance
Drivers David Brabham , Mika Salo , Patrick Long , John Bowe , Markus Winkelhock , René Rast , Gordon Shedden , Laurens Vanthoor , Peter Edwards , Felix Baumgartner
Teams Phoenix Racing
Article type Preview
Tags bathurst, liqui-moly, mount panorama