Chandhok to race in opening LMP3 Cup round at Donington

Former F1 driver Karun Chandhok will headline the entry list for the new-for-2017 LMP3 Cup, after being confirmed alongside Steve Tandy at T-Sport for this weekend’s opening round.

Chandhok, who contested 11 Grand Prix with Hispania Racing and Caterham between 2010 and 2011, raced with T-Sport in British F3 between 2002 and 2004 and has since worked with the team in a coaching capacity.

The Indian was approached by team owner Russell Eacott after reaching a deal with Bronze-rated Tandy, a British GT race-winner in 2012 who has most recently competed in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo European championship.

“Steve was the one who said ‘I want to do this’ and that enabled us then to look around, originally for a Silver driver but then I thought of Karun,” said Eacott.

“I’m really happy to have him in the team, we’ve known each other for many years and he lives just down the road from me in Brackley, so it was quite easy to do something.”

The deal is a one-off at present, but could be extended if Tandy adapts to the Ligier JSP3 17.

“It’s just a one-off, to be fair we only shook the car down last week and we’ve just been getting the car ready for the last couple of weeks,” added Eacott.

“If Steve enjoys it, which I hope he does, then we’ll go from there.”

10 field for debut race 

T-Sport are one of 10 cars entered by eight different teams in the LMP3 Cup’s first point-scoring meeting, after a showpiece event was held at Snetterton last October.

That event was won Tockwith Motorsport, who will run United Autosports boss Richard Dean and 2009 Ginetta Junior champion Sarah Moore.

As Ligier’s exclusive agents, United Autosports are unsurprisingly one of two teams to enter two cars, with ELMS champion Christian England filling in for baseball star CJ Wilson alongside teenager Andrew Evans. British GT race-winner Matt Bell will be partnered by Tony Wells in a sister car.

Ecurie Ecosse are another big name to have joined the series, in partnership with Radical outfit Nielsen Racing. Alasdair McCaig and Colin Noble will drive the Saltire-liveried car.

Meanwhile Toyota Racing Series champion Thomas Randle will remain with his BRDC F3 outfit Douglas Motorsport, sharing with Mike Newbould.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Endurance
Drivers Karun Chandhok
Article type Breaking news