Car Collection Motorsport wins action-packed 12H Imola

The first overall victory for an A6-Am class car in 2017.

Car Collection Motorsport wins action-packed 12H Imola
Pit stop, #284 Nova Race Ginetta G55 GT4: Luca Rangoni, Luca Magnoni, Roberto Gentili
Pit stop, #49 Drivex Audi R8 LMS Ultra: William Paul, Rene Ogrocki, Jose Luis Talermann
#84 Speedlover Porsche 991 Cup: Philippe Richard, Pierre-Yves Paque
#169 Barin Ford Fiesta ST: Roberto Barin, Simone Barin
#206 LMS Engineering Audi TTRS2: Peter Terting, Stefan Wieninger, Constantin Kletzer
#146 Bonk Motorsport BMW M235i Racing Cup: Max Partl, Hermann Bock, Rainer Partl
#10 Hofor-Racing Mercedes SLS AMG GT3: Michael Kroll, Christiaan Frankenhout, Kenneth Heyer, Roland Eggimann, Chantal Kroll
#103 JR Motorsport BMW M3 F80 Endurance: Daan Meijer, Eric vd Munckhof
#33 Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS: G. Tonic, Andreas Ziegler, Johannes Siegler, Peter Schmidt
#23 Equipe Verschuur Renault RS01 FGT3: Erik van Loon, Harrie Kolen, Mike Verschuur
#23 Equipe Verschuur Renault RS01 FGT3: Erik van Loon, Harrie Kolen, Mike Verschuur
#101 Hofor-Kuepper Racing BMW E46 M3 Coupe: Martin Kroll, Bernd Küpper, Meisam Taheri, Lars Zander
#89 Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport Porsche 991 Cup: Piotr Wojcik, Patrick Eisemann, Christopher Bauer
Listen to this article

Imola – The Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS (#32, Dimitri Parhofer / Max Edelhoff / Horst Felbermayr Jr. / Toni Forné) has won the first ever Hankook 12H Imola 2017 in dramatic fashion. After completing 367 laps of the 4,909 kilometre Autodrome Enzo e Dino Ferrari, Toni Forné took the #32 Audi across the finish line to claim not only Car Collection Motorsport’s first ever victory in the 24H Series powered by Hankook, but also the first for an A6-Am car in 2017.

Results 12H Imola: OverallPer Class

Just 37 seconds further down the road, the Scuderia Praha Ferrari 488 GT3 (#11, Jiri Pisarik / Josef Král) came home second, cementing A6-Pro class victory in the process. The Ferrari crossed the line just ahead of the Ram Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 (#30, Tom Onslow-Cole / Remon Leonard Vos), which finished third overall after a formidable battle in the dying moments. Behind them, the Forch Racing powered by Olimp Porsche 991 GT3 R (#29, Zeljko Drmic / Patrick Eisemann / Robert Lukas) finished fourth on the road, claiming the final A6-Pro class podium place in the process.

Finishing 7th overall, the sister Car Collection Motorsport Audi (#34 Johannes Dr. Kirchhoff / Gustav Edelhoff / Elmar Grimm / Ingo Vogler) finished seven laps behind the #32 entry to secure a 1-2 A6-Am finish for the German team. The MDC-Sports Mercedes-AMG GT3 (#44, Manuel Zumstein / Adrian Zumstein / Philip Zumstein) ultimately finished 19th on the road, but did enough to take third in-class in A6-Am.

991 - Porsche 991 Cup Car

The PROsport Performance Porsche 991 Cup (#85, Charles Putman / Charles Espenlaub / Joe Foster) took 991-class victory by 12 laps over its only category rival, the MSG Motorsport Porsche 991 Cup (#92, Petar Matic / Philipp Schlegel / Martin Gasser / Boris Miljevic). Problems for PROsport Performance’s nearest championship rivals – the Hofor-Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 – means the #85 Porsche now leads the 991 standings, while Putman, Espenlaub and Foster have also moved to the top of the overall Drivers’ standings.

Further back, the Porsche Lorient Racing Porsche 991 Cup (#64, Philippe Polette / Frédéric Lelievre / Frédéric Ancel) took SP2 class honours in a close-fought battle with the VDS Racing Adventures MARC Focus V8 (#58, Raphaël van der Straten / Thierry de Latre du Bosqueau / José Close) and the APO Sport Porsche 991 Cup (#80, Alex Osborne / Paul May). The winning Porsche held a comfortable two-lap lead to the flag, but barely two seconds separated the #58 MARC Focus and #80 Porsche in the battle for second after 12 hours of frenetic racing.

SP3-GT4 class

The JR Motorsport BMW E90 M3 (#114, Martin Lanting / Bob Herber) took a hard-fought victory in SP3-GT4, just pipping the category pole-sitting Optimum Motorsport Ginetta G55 GT4 (#231, Adrian Barwick / Dan O'Brien / Julio Martini) and the Brookspeed International Motorsport Porsche Cayman GT4 (#40, Rory Butcher / William Paul / Chase Owen). Despite this result, Optimum Motorsport maintains its lead in the SP3-GT4 standings over JR Motorsport.

TCR class

A combination of hard racing and bad luck in the eight-strong TCR class meant the TTC Racing Seat Leon TCR V2 DSG (#103, Daniel Schilliger / Fredy Suter / Klaus Kresnik) took category honours 13 laps ahead of the Team Altran Peugeot 308 Racing Cup (#908, Michel Derue / Thierry Boyer / Jean-Charles Covarel). The Seat Leon Cup Racer (#120, Martin Byford / Ashley Woodman / Frank Pettitt) took the final TCR class podium spot.

A2 class

Finally, the Team Cooksport Renault Clio Cup (#172, Alex Sedgwick / Oliver Cook / Josh Cook / Adam Hatfield) claimed A2 class victory over its only category rivals, the Endurance Team Romania Toyota GT86 (#173, Sergiu Nicolae / Fabrizio Broggi / Viorel Nicolae). This result means Team Cooksport closes to within three points of Team Eva Solo/K-Rejser in the A2 team standings.

In three weeks, the 24H SERIES powered by Hankook heads for its last round with the Hankook 24H Portimão, held from 25 to 27 August.

24H Series

Car Collection Motorsport holds shock lead on Friday at 12H Imola
Previous article

Car Collection Motorsport holds shock lead on Friday at 12H Imola

Next article

Entries open for Bathurst 12 Hour

Entries open for Bathurst 12 Hour