ELMS confirms 31-car entry for opener

The opening round of the ELMS at Silverstone next weekend will see 31 cars on the entry list.

This is three less than was announced on the season entry list that was released in early February.

The three cars that will not be at Silverstone are both the Rollcentre and Villorba Corse LMP3 Ginetta-Nissan and the Algarve Pro Racing Ligier-Nissan LMP2 car.

The headlines from the revised entry list concern the delayed debut of the BR01 LMP2 that tested for the first time last Sunday.

The new car is undertaking further tests at Barcelona this week before waiting to make its competitive debut until the second round of the ELMS at Imola in May.

The previously known SMP Racing team will be entered under the AF Corse banner in what is suspected to be a reaction to the ongoing sanction rulings that are implemented by the European Union and the USA against Russian owned companies.

SMP Racing has previously had a close sporting and logistical agreement with AF Corse throughout its racing programme.

Greaves Motorsport has entered a very strong looking trio of drivers to its Gibson-Nissan entry. Former International F3000 racer Bjorn Wirdheim joins GP2 refugee John Lancaster and former ELMS LMPC champion Gary Hirsch.

Krohn Racing has also confirmed that Oswaldo Negri will partner Tracy Krohn and Niclas Jonsson in the Ligier-Nissan for the opening round.

The much travelled David Cheng joins the Pegasus Racing team in LMP2, while former Auto GP racer Michele Le Rosa joins Yukata Yamagishi in the No.44 Ibanez Racing ORECA 03.

The new LMP3 class sees six of the new Ginetta chassis entered, although it remains to be seen if all of the cars will completed in time. The Yorkshire-based constructor faces a race against time to get the cars ready for the Silverstone weekend.

Continuing the Yorkshire thread, Charlie Hollings is slated to join Alex Crave in the #11 Lanan Racing car. Joey Foster, a former LMP2 racer with Embassy Racing in 2008 joins the pair in what will be a very potent line-up.

In the LMGTE class Aaron Scott joins 2014 runner-up Matt Griffin and Duncan Cameron in the No.55 AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia. The Prancing Horse makes up nine of the fifteen LMGTE and GTC class cars at Silverstone.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series European Le Mans
Drivers Joey Foster , Aaron Scott , Bjorn Wirdheim , Oswaldo Negri Jr. , Tracy Krohn , Duncan Cameron , David Cheng , Matt Griffin , Gary Hirsch , Charlie Hollings
Article type Breaking news