Zandvoort DTM: Wittmann leads BMW 1-2-3-4-5-6-7

Reigning DTM champion Marco Wittmann held off a determined challenge from stablemate Antonio Felix da Costa to win race one at Zandvoort, as BMW dominated in Holland.

From pole position, Augusto Farfus was beaten away by Wittmann and da Costa on the run to the first corner.

Maxime Martin also squeezed past Farfus with a nudge on the exit of Tarzan to move into third, as Farfus was left to bang wheels with Gary Paffett’s Mercedes over fourth.

The safety car was required almost immediately when Paul di Resta ploughed into his Mercedes into the tyrewall at Turn 2 after he clipped the rear of Robert Wickens.

Witmann led the restart from da Costa, Martin, Farfus, Paffett and the leading Audi of Jamie Green.

Da Costa kept the pressure on Wittmann, the pair pulling clear of Martin, while Paffett battled hard with Farfus for fourth.

With 10 minutes remaining, da Costa began to attack Wittmann for the lead, but their duel was interrupted by points leader Green spinning out of sixth while under pressure from Bruno Spengler’s BMW.

The series’ first-ever ‘slow zone’ was employed to retrieve his car, but da Costa was closer than ever as the race entered its closing stages.

Red Bull-backed da Costa tried a couple of lunges to the inside of Tarzan, but Wittmann kept covering his moves and won by 0.4s.

Third-placed Martin closed up on the leaders to finish right on their tail, while Farfus held fourth after Paffett ran wide and into the gravel as he challenged the Brazilian into the high-speed Schievlak corner.

That meant BMW filled the top seven places, with Mike Rockenfeller’s Audi the best of the rest in eighth. The top Mercedes was Pascal Wehrlein in 10th.

 Pos Driver  Manufacturer  Time  Gap
Marco Wittmann BMW 42m30.240  
Antonio Felix da Costa BMW 42m30.704 0.464
Maxime Martin BMW 42m32.469 2.229
Augusto Farfus BMW 42m34.008 3.768
Bruno Spengler BMW 42m34.754 4.514
Timo Glock BMW 42m36.294 6.054
Tom Blomqvist BMW 42m37.513 7.273
Mike Rockenfeller Audi 42m38.077 7.837
Nico Muller Audi 42m38.917 8.677
10  Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes 42m39.281 9.041
11  Gary Paffett Mercedes 42m42.457 12.217
12  Christian Vietoris Mercedes 42m43.146 12.906
13  Mattias Ekstrom Audi 42m45.978 15.738
14  Timo Scheider Audi 42m48.087 17.847
15  Maximilian Gotz Mercedes 42m50.732 20.492
16  Dani Juncadella Mercedes 42m54.876 24.636
17  Lucas Auer Mercedes 42m55.896 25.656
18  Adrien Tambay Audi 43m00.263 30.023
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Event Zandvoort
Track Zandvoort
Drivers Augusto Farfus , Maxime Martin , Marco Wittmann , Antonio Felix da Costa
Teams BMW Team MTEK , BMW Team RMG
Article type Race report