Zandvoort DTM: Da Costa takes first DTM pole

Antonio Felix da Costa broke his DTM pole position duck with a last-gasp lap at Zandvoort.

As usual, most the of business was done in the dying seconds of the sessions, the top four times all coming after the flag. And the best of them was da Costa, the Portuguese driver storming to pole with a 1m30.483s.

Again, BMW was the form make in qualifying. Bruno Spengler grabbed P2, finishing with a best time just 0.058s shy of da Costa’s, with Augusto Farfus and Race 1 winner Marco Wittmann making it an all-BMW first two rows.

The best of the drivers not sat in an M4 was Audi’s Miguel Molina. The Spaniard had been fastest with 90 seconds left, but ended up in fifth thanks to the flurry of quick laps at the end.

Next in line was Pascal Wehrlein, the best of the Mercedes drivers, the young German just beating Timo Glock to P6.

A trio of Mercedes made up the remainder of the Top 10, Daniel Juncadella heading Gary Paffett and Christian Vietoris.

The next best Audi after Molina was Edoardo Mortara back in 12th, followed by Mattias Ekstrom, Adrien Tambay, Jamie Green, Mike Rockefeller and Nico Muller, the five RS5 drivers locking out spots 16 to 20.

While Audi was collectively disappointing, the back row is all Mercedes, Paul di Resta and Lucas Auer qualifying 23rd and 24th respectively.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Event Zandvoort
Track Zandvoort
Drivers Antonio Felix da Costa
Article type Qualifying report