Zandvoort DTM: Da Costa scores maiden victory

Antonio Felix da Costa converted his first DTM pole into his maiden race win at Zandvoort in Holland, as BMW dominated once again.

Despite a brief rain shower in the closing stages, da Costa held off the challenge of BMW stablemates Augusto Farfus, Bruno Spengler and Timo Glock.

From pole position, da Costa led as Spengler was slow away and had to battle Farfus at Tarzan.

Da Costa – rejected by the Toro Rosso F1 squad a few years ago – led a BMW 1-2-3-4 ahead of Spengler, Farfus and Marco Wittmann, with Miguel Molina and Dani Juncadella leading the way for Audi and Mercedes respectively.

After a static first stint, Spengler and Wittmann were the first of the top four to make his mandatory pitstop at the end of lap 12, as did Molina and Juncadella – who lost a heap of time and places with a slow stop.

Molina actually got ahead of Wittmann, but the latter managed to jump back past him on the exit of the pitlane.

Molina got into the back of Wittmann at Tarzan, as they battled the long-running Mercedes of Lucas Auer.

Wittmann then punted Auer into a spin, and a concertina effect behind led to Martin Tomczyk sustaining bonnet damage. This caused him to back off on the start/finish straight, which almost caused a huge pile-up behind him.

Da Costa and Farfus pitted together a lap later, and Farfus gained a place at Spengler’s expense through the pitstop cycle.

The BMW train cruised to the finish in the order da Costa, Farfus, Spengler, Glock and Wittmann.

Further back, Pascal Wehrlein bullied his Mercedes past Molina for sixth with a robust move at Tarzan, while Tom Blomqvist spun out Robert Wickens and quite rightly received a drive-through penalty.

Juncadella had the biggest moment of the race when he clashed with Edoardo Mortara through the fast uphill sweepers, briefly flying through the air and coming to a halt mercifully without hitting anything.

Yesterday’s podium finisher Maxime Martin was hit twice by Audis at Tarzan, dropping to the back of the field.

Pos Driver  Manufacturer   Time  Gap
Antonio Felix da Costa BMW 1h02m07.601  
Augusto Farfus BMW 1h02m08.074 0.473
Bruno Spengler BMW 1h02m08.692 1.091
Timo Glock BMW 1h02m09.311 1.710
Marco Wittmann BMW 1h02m12.576 4.975
Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes 1h02m18.555 10.954
Mattias Ekstrom Audi 1h02m18.876 11.275
Christian Vietoris Mercedes 1h02m19.168 11.567
Adrien Tambay Audi 1h02m19.511 11.910
10  Gary Paffett Mercedes 1h02m19.848 12.247
11  Mike Rockenfeller Audi 1h02m20.262 12.661
12  Miguel Molina Audi 1h02m22.731 15.130
13  Jamie Green Audi 1h02m23.543 15.942
14  Paul Di Resta Mercedes 1h02m24.057 16.456
15  Timo Scheider Audi 1h02m24.454 16.853
16  Maximilian Gotz Mercedes 1h02m25.920 18.319
17  Maxime Martin BMW 1h02m37.309 29.708
18  Tom Blomqvist BMW 1h02m40.271 32.670
19  Robert Wickens Mercedes 1h02m59.836 52.235
20  Lucas Auer Mercedes 1h03m00.419 52.818
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Event Zandvoort
Track Zandvoort
Drivers Bruno Spengler , Augusto Farfus , Timo Glock , Antonio Felix da Costa
Article type Race report