Thriller of a race, final lap, final corner: Jamie Green wins

Fourth Norisring win for Jamie Green (Mercedes AMG C-Coupé)

Tenth Mercedes victory in a row at the Norisring and 168th triumph in 347 DTM races since 1988

Winner Jamie Green, Team HWA AMG Mercedes, AMG Mercedes C-Coupe
Winner Jamie Green, Team HWA AMG Mercedes, AMG Mercedes C-Coupe

Photo by:

Jamie Green (Mercedes AMG C-Coupé) won the fifth DTM race of the 2012 season in Nuremberg by a margin of 0.687 seconds, after overtaking Martin Tomczyk (BMW) in spectacular style on the latest corner at the final lap. This was Green’s eighth victory in his DTM career and his fourth at the Norisring, i.e. half of his winner’s trophies have been collected at this one venue (2008, 2009, 2010 and 2012). It was also the Englishman’s 19th podium in 79 DTM outings.

The Norisring fixture has proved to be the most productive on the race calendar for Mercedes-Benz. Green’s latest win was also the 15th for Mercedes on this street circuit in Nuremberg and the tenth in succession. Since the DTM series was revived in the year

2000, Mercedes-Benz drivers have won twelve out of 14 races staged at the Norisring (a win rate of 85.71%). Furthermore, Mercedes-Benz has now won 168 DTM races since first fielding a works team in 1988.

By finishing fourth, Gary Paffett (THOMAS SABO Mercedes AMG C-Coupé) has boosted his championship points tally to 95 and further consolidated his lead in the standings to 26 points ahead of second-placed Jamie Green. Paffett’s THOMAS SABO / Mercedes-Benz Bank outfit leads the team standings on 119 points, while Mercedes-Benz tops the constructors’ standings on 211 points.

A total of five C-Coupé drivers finished in the Top 10; apart from Green and Paffett, David Coulthard (DHL Paket Mercedes AMG C-Coupé), Christian Vietoris (Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Coupé) and Robert Wickens (stern AMG Mercedes C-Coupé) secured positions five, eight and nine respectively. Coulthard and Wickens achieved their best ever result so far in the DTM.

Roberto Merhi (Junge Sterne Mercedes AMG C-Coupé) was 13th, Ralf Schumacher (Mercedes AMG C-Coupé) and Susie Wolff (TV Spielfilm Mercedes AMG C-Coupé) did not finish.

Jamie Green produced the fastest race lap, 54.451 seconds. For race winner Green, this was the 13th fastest lap in his DTM career and his third this season. Since 1988, Mercedes-Benz drivers have posted the fastest lap in some 165 races, including 16 at the Norisring.

Overall,135.000 fans attended the DTM race weekend in Nuremberg (Fri, Sat, Sun).

Source: Mercedes-Benz

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Drivers Ralf Schumacher , David Coulthard , Martin Tomczyk , Gary Paffett , Susie Wolff , Robert Wickens , Christian Vietoris , Jamie Green , Roberto Merhi
Article type Race report
Tags green, mercedes, norisring, paffett