Spielberg DTM: Mortara wins, more heartache for Jamie Green

Audi’s Edoardo Mortara won his third career DTM race at Spielberg’s Red Bull Ring on Saturday, but the big news was the change of points leader following Jamie Green’s early exit from the lead.

From pole position, Mortara was beaten to Turn 1 by fellow front-row man Green. Pascal Wehrlein held third for Mercedes, ahead of teammate Paul di Resta. Christian Vietoris’s Merc passed Augusto Farfus’s best-placed BMW for fifth with an impressive lunge around the outside at Turn 2.

Mortara retook the lead on lap two as Green got stuck in gear, ending his hopes of retaining his points lead.

“The gearshift stopped working,” rued Green. “I was comfortably in the lead, the car felt good, but then when I exited the last corner the upshift didn’t work, and then it wouldn’t downshift into Turn 1. Game over.”

Green’s exit spelled the fourth consecutive race that he’s failed to score points – and his lead that was as much as 23 points is now a deficit to Wehrlein.

Wehrlein was delayed passing Green at Turn 2, allowing di Resta to briefly jump up to second from fourth. Wehrlein quickly repassed di Resta for second on lap four, and set off after Mortara.

Gary Paffett (Mercedes) battled his way up to sixth, passing Robert Wickens when the Canadian ran wide, with Audi’s Mattias Ekstrom taking advantage to grab seventh. Ekstrom later barged past Paffett for sixth on lap six at Turn 2.

Marco Wittmann further demoted Paffett on lap nine, only to run wide a lap later and gift him his position back.

Despite Wehrlein’s threat, Mortara pulled away with ease at the front of the field for a convincing win. Di Resta was a distant third, ahead of the battling Vietoris, Farfus and Ekstrom. Ekstrom grabbed fifth from Farfus on the very last lap with a robust move.

Behind Paffett, Mike Rockenfeller (Audi) battled through to eighth, passing Wittmann with a neat switchback move at Turn 3.

Wehrlein now leads the points on 94, ahead of Ekstrom, Mortara and Green – who has fallen from first to fourth.

 Pos Driver  Manufacturer   Time  Gap
Edoardo Mortara Audi 41m41.536  
Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes 41m43.328 1.792
Paul Di Resta Mercedes 41m52.736 11.200
Christian Vietoris Mercedes 41m59.494 17.958
Mattias Ekstrom Audi 42m00.836 19.300
Augusto Farfus BMW 42m01.438 19.902
Gary Paffett Mercedes 42m04.808 23.272
Mike Rockenfeller Audi 42m05.070 23.534
Marco Wittmann BMW 42m11.415 29.879
10  Adrien Tambay Audi 42m11.904 30.368
11  Dani Juncadella Mercedes 42m13.502 31.966
12  Nico Muller Audi 42m19.333 37.797
13  Antonio Felix da Costa BMW 42m20.068 38.532
14  Maxime Martin BMW 42m20.886 39.350
15  Bruno Spengler BMW 42m21.461 39.925
16  Timo Scheider Audi 42m21.958 40.422
17  Tom Blomqvist BMW 42m26.803 45.267
18  Miguel Molina Audi 42m27.220 45.684
19  Timo Glock BMW 42m28.336 46.800
20  Maximilian Gotz Mercedes 42m28.911 47.375
21  Lucas Auer Mercedes 42m30.989 49.453
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Event Spielberg
Track Red Bull Ring
Drivers Paul di Resta , Edoardo Mortara , Pascal Wehrlein
Article type Race report