Spengler surprises Mercedes to take Norisring pole

BMW driver Bruno Spengler ended Mercedes’s Norisring domination, taking pole for today’s DTM race.

The session looked as if it was going to be another Mercedes lock-out, with Christian Vietoris and Robert Wickens sitting first and second as clock ran down on the 20-minute session.

But right at the flag Spengler made his move, jumping from P3 to pole with a last-gasp 48.280s – enough to knock Vietoris off top spot by just 0.004s.

Wickens hung on for P3, despite only improving by 0.005s on his second set of tyres, which he said cost him pole position.

“[I’m] disappointed,” Wickens said.

“I didn’t improve on the second set of tyres, and you need to. Luckily we didn’t go further back. I feel like I had the car for pole position.”

Mattias Ekstrom was the best Audi in fourth, ahead of Mercedes young guns Lucas Auer and Saturday race winner Pascal Wehrlein.

Jamie Green was seventh, ahead of fellow Brit Paul di Resta and second-fastest BMW driver Maxime Martin. Daniel Juncadella was next, making it six Mercedes in the Top 10.

 Pos   Driver   Car   Time  Gap 
Bruno Spengler BMW 48.280  
C. Vietoris Mercedes 48.284 0.004
Robert Wickens Mercedes 48.293 0.013
Mattias Ekström Audi 48.401 0.121
Lucas Auer Mercedes 48.422 0.142
Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes 48.425 0.145
Jamie Green Audi 48.445 0.165
Paul Di Resta Mercedes 48.472 0.192
Maxime Martin BMW 48.484 0.204
10  D. Juncadella Mercedes 48.490 0.210
11  Gary Paffett Mercedes 48.516 0.236
12  Augusto Farfus BMW 48.547 0.267
13  Adrien Tambay Audi 48.548 0.268
14  Timo Glock BMW 48.559 0.279
15  Nico Müller Audi 48.563 0.283
16  Maximilian Götz Mercedes 48.585 0.305
17  A.F. da Costa BMW 48.610 0.330
18  Edoardo Mortara Audi 48.620 0.340
19  M.Rockenfeller Audi 48.671 0.391
20  Tom Blomqvist BMW 48.719 0.439
21  Martin Tomczyk BMW 48.767 0.487
22  Marco Wittmann BMW 48.815 0.535
23  Timo Scheider Audi 48.878 0.598
24  Miguel Molina Audi 48.905 0.625


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Event Norisring
Track Norisring
Drivers Bruno Spengler , Robert Wickens , Christian Vietoris
Article type Qualifying report