Nurburgring DTM: Martin wins from Mortara and Wehrlein

BMW driver Maxime Martin scored his second DTM career victory at the Nurburgring, while Mercedes protege Pascal Wehrlein in third extended his championship lead.

It was a race that was virtually decided at the start, when Martin and Wehrlein battled for the lead into Turn 1. A small collision followed and Wehrlein dropped to fourth behind Bruno Spengler and Edoardo Mortara.

Several other first-lap incidents then brought out the Safety Car and the race was subsequently red-flagged due to debris and oil on the racing line.

Jamie Green was among those in trouble as he had been turned around and got hit by several cars, including his Audi teammates Miguel Molina and Timo Scheider, with all three retiring from the race with heavy damage.

Several cars were tended to during the red-flag period, most notably Wehrlein’s Mercedes as the German himself even got out of his car to have words with Martin.

After the restart BMW was headed for a 1-2 with Martin and Spengler but, on lap 15, Mortara made a surprise move on the Canadian. The Italian pushed through and collided with Spengler in the process, and Wehrlein also overtook the former DTM champion.

The following laps saw a fierce battle between Spengler in a damaged car and the rivals behind him, a puncture on the rear right bringing an end to the BMW driver's efforts.

In the end, Martin won the race from Mortara and Wehrlein. Gary Paffett, Maximilian Gotz and polesitter Lucas Auer in fourth, fifth and sixth collected points for Mercedes, while reigning DTM champion Marco Wittmann finished seventh.

The final points went to Robert Wickens, Antonio Felix da Costa and Mattias Ekstrom.

BMW driver Martin Tomczyk didn’t take the start due to technical problems with his car.

Pos. Driver Team Time/Delay
1 Maxime Martin BMW 48'17.036
2 Edoardo Mortara Audi 2.543
3 Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes 2.955
4 Gary Paffett Mercedes 14.227
5 Maximilian Gotz Mercedes 15.293
6 Lucas Auer Mercedes 16.750
7 Marco Wittmann BMW 17.349
8 Robert Wickens Mercedes 20.620
9 Antonio Felix da Costa BMW 22.189
10 Mattias Ekstrom Audi 23.857
11 Mike Rockenfeller Audi 24.398
12 Paul di Resta Mercedes 25.032
13 Timo Glock BMW 25.383
14 Adrien Tambay Audi 25.756
15 Christian Vietoris Mercedes 26.413
16 Nico Muller Audi 27.142
17 Dani Juncadella Mercedes 27.724
18 Augusto Farfus BMW 1'00.378
19 Bruno Spengler BMW 7 Laps
Ret Timo Scheider Audi  
Ret Tom Blomqvist BMW  
Ret Jamie Green Audi  
Ret Miguel Molina Audi  
DNS Martin Tomczyk BMW  


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Event Nürburgring
Sub-event Saturday race
Track Nurburgring
Drivers Maxime Martin
Article type Race report