Norisring: Mercedes-Benz race report

Like in 2008: Jamie Green wins ahead of Bruno Spengler Five C-Class cars within the first seven positions - Jamie Green drove the 2008 Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Class to victory in the 2009 DTM's third round at Nuremberg's Norisring. After...

Like in 2008: Jamie Green wins ahead of Bruno Spengler

Five C-Class cars within the first seven positions

- Jamie Green drove the 2008 Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Class to victory in the 2009 DTM's third round at Nuremberg's Norisring. After 80 exciting laps with three lead changes during the final four laps, Green who had started seventh on the grid won 1.3sec ahead of Bruno Spengler in the 2009 Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Class. Thus both drivers repeated last year's finish; Green drove the same car as in 2008.

- It was the seventh consecutive race win for Mercedes-Benz at the Norisring, the ninth since 2000. For the second time since Gary Paffett's success in Oschersleben two years ago, a last year's car won a DTM race.

- Gary Paffett, Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Class, winner of the previous race at the Lausitzring, came home fifth ahead of Ralf Schumacher (Trilux AMG Mercedes C-Class) who achieved his best DTM result so far. Paul Di Resta (AMG Mercedes C-Class), who had been relegated to 15th on the grid following a breach of the parc ferme rules, ended up seventh. Five Mercedes-Benz C-Class cars finished amongst the top seven.

- Susie Stoddart (TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Class) came home 10th, Mathias Lauda (stern AMG Mercedes C-Class) finished14th. Maro Engel (GQ AMG Mercedes C-Class) retired after he had stalled the engine following his second pit stop on lap 47.

- In the overall ranking, Timo Scheider (Audi) who was fourth today leads with 17 points ahead of Spengler with 16 points and Green, Paffett and Mattias Ekstrom (Audi) who are all on 14 points each.

- A total of 132,000 spectators attended the 2009 DTM's third round at the Norisring during the weekend.

The start: Spengler and Paffett started side-by-side from the second row on the grid, followed by Engel, Green and Schumacher in positions six to eight respectively. At the end of the opening lap, Spengler was third ahead of Paffett, Green and Engel, Schumacher was ninth. The Safety Car was deployed after an accident of Oliver Jarvis (Audi).

Lap 6: Re-start.

Lap 11: Between leader Scheider and Mathias Lauda in 15th place were less than 10 seconds.

Lap 20: First pit stop of Schumacher. Paffett followed one lap later; Stoddart pitted on lap 23.

Lap 24: Lauda came in for his first stop. He spun two laps later exiting the hairpin.

Lap 27: After Scheider's pit stop Spengler took the lead ahead of Green and Engel.

Lap 32: Stoddart pitted for the second time.

Lap 36: Di Resta came in for his second stop, followed by Engel one lap later.

Lap 38: Spengler's first stop, he resumed just behind Scheider.

Lap 40: Halfway through the race Green came in for his first stop. Afterwards, Scheider had the lead two tenths of a second ahead of Spengler.

Lap 41: Respective second pit stops by Di Resta, Schumacher and Paffett.

Lap 45: Spengler completed his second mandatory stop.

Lap 47: After his second stop, Engel retired at the end of the pit lane.

Lap 56: Green pitted from the lead; he rejoined the race third behind Scheider and Spengler. The three leading drivers were covered by 1.1sec.

Lap 60: 20 laps before the chequered flag, Spengler was in second place half a second behind Scheider; Green was third, Paffett fifth and Schumacher sixth. Di Resta had improved from 15th on the grid to seventh.

Lap 76: At the Dutzendteich, Spengler took the lead; however, one lap later he made a mistake under braking at the hairpin and dropped to third behind Scheider and Green. Then he also had to hold off the charging Ekstrom.

Lap 79: Green overtook Scheider at the chicane; Spengler and Ekstrom also went by.

Finish (lap 80): Green won 1.3sec ahead of Spengler. Paffett finished fifth followed by Schumacher and Di Resta. The top seven were covered by 3.8sec.

Jamie Green (2008 Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Class) winner: "This was a great race today. I thank my team for a perfect car and the optimum strategy. Starting seventh on the grid I hadn't expected to end up on the top spot of the podium; this is absolutely fantastic. Now we will celebrate."

Bruno Spengler (2009 Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Class) second: "It's a shame that I wasn't able to win. After I had overtaken Scheider, I made a mistake under braking at the hairpin and that was it. Congratulations to Jamie -- I am happy that he took the race win for Mercedes-Benz."

Gary Paffett (2009 Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Class) fifth: "What a tough race. I drove consistently in fourth place; however, due to the lengthy second pitsop I lost this position to Ekstrom. All drivers were very close together today, so I'm still satisfied to have scored four points."

Ralf Schumacher (2009 Trilux AMG Mercedes C-Class) sixth: "This is my best DTM result and I'm happy to have achieved this in the season's highlight here at the Norisring. With a better starting position an even better result would have been possible. I thank my team for their good job and congratulate Jamie on his victory. Now I look forward to the next race in Zandvoort in three weeks time when I want to improve further."

Paul Di Resta (2009 AMG Mercedes C-Class) seventh: "Starting 15th on the grid the seventh-place finish is not too bad. Without the relegation it has been a difficult weekend for me and so I am still satisfied to have scored two points."

Susie Stoddart (2008 TV-Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Class) 10th: "My race was quite OK, although I missed points again. During my third stint I was a bit slower than before. Congratulations to our team and Jamie on this race win."

Mathias Lauda (2008 stern AMG Mercedes C-Class) 14th: "Halfway through the race I had gearbox problems and was not able to change gears. I already wanted to pit but all of a sudden everything worked again fine. Although I then set almost the same lap times as the top drivers, I was too far behind to catch up."

Maro Engel (2008 GQ AMG Mercedes C-Class) retired: "Following my second pit stop I stalled the engine and was not able to start it again. This was my fault, I am very sorry for my team."

Norbert Haug, Vice President Mercedes-Benz Motorsport: "Probably the best DTM race of all times -- and we won it. Thank you Jamie, you were the best. With the same car, Jamie had won already last year's race at the Norisring, this is probably a unique record. This victory is the seventh in a row for Mercedes-Benz at the Norisring. Jamie achieved it from seventh on the grid and at the finish seven cars were within 3.8sec -- so seven was a very special lucky number today. Ingmar Persson and his team did a great job, they had a very good strategy and showed perfect pit stops. As short the Norisring is as long lasted the excitement today, and then our guys overtook in a very convincing way. First Bruno and then Jamie -- world class, you cannot do it better. Of course the spectators were very enthusiastic."

-credit: m-b

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Drivers Ralf Schumacher , Timo Scheider , Norbert Haug , Mattias Ekström , Bruno Spengler , Gary Paffett , Oliver Jarvis , Mathias Lauda , Maro Engel , Jamie Green