Marco Wittmann lands in BMW M3 cockpit full time in 2013

BMW celebrates end of 2012 season with breaking news on the 2013 season. Their current test and development driver Marco Wittmann will be the seventh of eight drivers as BMW aims for back-to-back championship.

BMW Motorsport celebrated the sensationally successful 2012 season with a glittering party in the hangar of the BMW Driving Academy in Maisach, during which it also presented its plans for the coming year.

BMW will line up with eight cars instead of six in next season’s DTM.

New to the outfit is BMW Team MTEK with Team Principal Ernest Knoors (NL). BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW Team RBM and BMW Team RMG will also represent the brand again. The six successful DTM drivers – champion Bruno Spengler (CA), Augusto Farfus (BR), Joey Hand (US), Andy Priaulx (GB), Martin Tomczyk (DE) and Dirk Werner (DE) – also return in 2013.

“All six of our drivers produced very good performances last season and contributed to BMW Motorsport winning the Manufacturers’ Championship,” said Jens Marquardt. “For that reason, it is a logical step to put our faith in our sextet again in 2013.”

The announced 2013 BMW DTM drivers including Marco Wittmann
The announced 2013 BMW DTM drivers including Marco Wittmann

Photo by: BMW AG

Marquardt also announced that current BMW Motorsport test and development driver Marco Wittmann (DE) would join the ranks as the seventh driver.

“Marco spent the 2012 season preparing intensively for this opportunity,” Marquardt said. “He was a permanent part of the team throughout the entire year and was present in every meeting. He knows the processes just as well as the other drivers. Furthermore, his tests in the BMW M3 DTM showed he is more than capable of coping with the DTM. As such, he fully deserves a DTM seat in 2013.”

The driver to occupy the cockpit in the eighth DTM next season will be announced at a later date.

BMW Motorsport

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Drivers Andy Priaulx , Joey Hand , Martin Tomczyk , Bruno Spengler , Augusto Farfus , Dirk Werner , Marco Wittmann
Teams BMW Team RMG , BMW Team RBM , BMW Team Schnitzer , BMW Team MTEK
Article type Breaking news
Tags bmw, dtm, m3, marquardt, wittmann