Maiden DTM victory for Christian Vietoris

Vietoris crossed the finish line and won his maiden DTM race by just six tenths in a wild race at Oschersleben!

Oschersleben. In an action-packed race, Christian Vietoris (Mercedes-Benz) and his team had the best overview: after 44 laps and three safety car phases in the etropolis Motorsport Arena Oschersleben, Vietoris crossed the finish line as the winner for the first time in his DTM career with a margin of 0.6 seconds. Defending champion Mike Rockenfeller (Audi) finished second in the race in the region of Magdeburg and also took the lead in the drivers’ standings.

His fellow Audi driver Edoardo Mortara took the final podium slot during the prize-giving ceremony by finishing third. Behind Paul Di Resta (Mercedes-Benz) in fourth place, Augusto Farfus was the best-placed BMW driver in the second DTM season round in fifth position. A full press release with quotes from the successful drivers will follow shortly.

The race in detail

Before the start Another rain shower sets in as the cars get underway for their warm-up lap.

Vietoris and Juncadella have turned into the pits for a tyre change. Wittmann takes the lead from Scheider, Da Costa and Tambay.

Lap 2 Wittmann is leading from Scheider, Tambay, Félix da Costa, Spengler, Tomczyk, Farfus, Rocenfeller, Green and Paffett. Paffett overtakes Green and is ninth.

Lap 3 Paffett overtakes Farfus, Green also past Farfus. Mortara and Wehrlein spin, but continue. Molina overtakes Rockenfeller and is already eleventh.

Lap 4 Glock overtakes Ekström and is now 14th. Hand overtakes Rockenfeller for 13th.

Lap 5 Wehrlein under investigation because of pushing another car.

Lap 6 Wehrlein gets a five seconds' pit stop penalty for the collision with Mortara. Paffett spins out of eighth place, drops back to twelfth.

Lap 7 Di Resta spins off the track, continues. Tambay overtakes Scheider and is now second.

Lap 8 Félix da Costa overtakes Scheider and is now third. Wittmann, Tambay, Scheider, Green, Wickens, Farfus, Glock, Rockenfeller, Ekström, Glock, Martin into the pits. Farfus gets off the track on the pit lane entry.

Lap 9 Spengler, Tomczyk, Molina into the pits. DRS is disabled.

Lap 10 Wickens into the gravel trap. Safety car. Félix da Costa into the pits.

Lap 11 Paffett has yet to make a pit stop and is now the first driver behind the safety car, followed by Wittmann, Tambay, Scheider, Félix da Costa, Green, Spengler, Tomczyk, Molina and Hand.

Lap 13 Safety car comes in at the end of the lap.

Lap 14 Restart. Wittmann runs wide into the gravel trap of the first corner while trying to overtake Paffett. Tambay is leading from Scheider. Paffett off the track. Di Resta into the gravel trap. Glock spins after collision with Rockenfeller, Glock retires in the gravel trap. The safety car is deployed once again. Farfus gets a five seconds’ grid penalty for a dangerous manoeuvre in the pit lane entry.

Lap 17 Safety car comes into the pits at the end of the lap.

Lap 18 Restart. Tambay is leading from Scheider, Green, Félix da Costa, Spengler, Wittmann, Tomczyk, Mortara, Hand and Farfus.

Lap 19 Green attacks Scheider for second in the first corner, the two tangle and Green gets past. Félix Da Costa is closely behind Scheider, he has Spengler, Tomczyk, Wittmann and Mortara behind him. Mortara overtakes Wittmann for seventh. Rockenfeller, Vietoris, Paffett into the pits.

Lap 20 Juncadella spins, Petrov can't avoid the collision with the Spaniard's car. Juncadella comes into the pits at the end of the lap.

Lap 21 Green overtakes Tambay under braking for the first corner and gets into the lead. Farfus into the pits, including his five seconds’ penalty.

Lap 23 Green has built up a 4.1 seconds' lead from Tambay.

Lap 24 Wehrlein into the pits.

Lap 26 Mortara, Molina into the pits.

Lap 27 Da Costa and Scheider tangle in the first corner, Da Costa spins into the gravel trap. Wehrlein into the gravel trap. Molina into the grass after collision Di Resta.

Lap 28 Safety car deployed.

Lap 29 The pit stop window has been extended from the end of lap 34 to the end of lap 39.

Lap 30 Wittmann into the pits.

Lap 31 Safety car in at the end of the lap.

Lap 32 Restart. Green is leading from Tambay, Spengler, Tomczyk, Scheider, Hand, Félix da Costa, Ekström, Martin and Müller. The race is run to maximal time.

Lap 33 Vietoris overtakes Rockenfeller for 13th place under braking for the first corner and then attacks Mortarta for twelfth. Spengler, Hand into the pits.

Lap 34 Müller, Petrov into the pits.

Lap 35 Viertoris overtakes Mortara for eighth. Tambay into the pits. Rockenfeller overtakes Mortara and is now ninth. Lap 36 Wittmann into the pits.

Lap 38 Green, Scheider, Félix da Costa, Ekström, Martin into the pits.

Lap 39 Tomczyk into the pits.

Lap 40 Tomczyk rejoins behind Green.

Lap 41 Tomczyk overtakes Green. Vietoris is leading from Rockenfeller, Mortara, Di Resta, Farfus, Molina, Paffett, Tomczyk, Green and Scheider.

Lap 42 Scheider attacks Green for ninth place.

Lap 43 Green overtakes Tomczyk, who then loses another place to Scheider and drops back to tenth.

Lap 44 Final lap. Green spins into the gravel trap. Vietoris wins from Rockenfeller, Mortara , Di Resta, Farfus, Molina, Scheider, Paffett, Tomczyk and Tambay.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Event Oschersleben
Sub-event Sunday race
Drivers Augusto Farfus , Mike Rockenfeller , Christian Vietoris , Edoardo Mortara
Article type Race report
Tags christian vietoris, dtm, edoardo mortara, mike rockenfeller, oschersleben