Jamie Green takes pole for Hockenheim DTM opener

Jamie Green will start race one in this year’s DTM from pole position for Audi, ahead of Mercedes’ young gun Pascal Wehrlein and BMW’s Augusto Farfus.

Green set the early pace on 1m33.044s on his first set of tyres, a mark that proved unbeatable in the 20-minute session. Wehrlein went P2 with seven minutes to go, while Farfus jumped to third in the closing seconds of the session.

Farfus then stopped out on track – raising questions about whether he had enough fuel in his car for post-qualifying scrutineering. Those were answered when he was slung to the back of the grid by stewards.

Free practice dominator Edoardo Mortara had grabbed P3 in his Audi with just over a minute remaining, but Farfus’s late improvement demoted him to fourth before he was returned to third.

Nico Muller will start fourth for Audi, ahead of the Mercedes of Paul di Resta.

Mike Rockenfeller and Adrien Tambay are up next in their Audis, with Tom Blomqvist inheriting the leading BMW spot in eighth.

Reigning champion Marco Wittmann will start down in 15th in his BMW.

Christian Vietoris went off in his Mercedes halfway through the session at the exit of the hairpin in the stadium, shedding aero parts as he bounced over the new rallycross circuit in the process and briefly flew into the air. He was attempting to improve on his 11th-fastest time, but slipped back to 17th.

Gary Paffett should have started 14th but he was excluded due to a parc ferme infringement.

The first race in the DTM’s new twin-race format starts later this afternoon, a 40-minute sprint event.

Qualifying times for Race 1

1 Jamie Green Audi RS5 1m33.044  
2 Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes-AMG C 63 1m33.160 00.116
DQ Augusto Farfus BMW M4 1m33.310 00.150
3 Edoardo Mortara Audi RS5 1m33.331 00.021
4 Nico Muller Audi RS5 1m33.338 00.007
5 Paul Di Resta Mercedes-AMG C 63 1m33.340 00.002
6 Mike Rockenfeller Audi RS5 1m33.342 00.002
7 Adrien Tambay Audi RS5 1m33.342 00.000
8 Tom Blomqvist BMW M4 1m33.358 00.016
9 Miguel Molina Audi RS5 1m33.489 00.131
10 Mattias Ekstrom Audi RS5 1m33.502 00.013
11 Maxime Martin BMW M4 1m33.526 00.024
12 Timo Scheider Audi RS5 1m33.567 00.041
13 Daniel Juncadella Mercedes-AMG C 63 1m33.580 00.013
DQ Gary Paffett Mercedes-AMG C 63 1m33.582 00.002
14 Marco Wittmann BMW M4 1m33.591 00.009
15 Antonio Felix da Costa BMW M4 1m33.604 00.013
16 Christian Vietoris Mercedes-AMG C 63 1m33.621 00.017
17 Bruno Spengler BMW M4 1m33.652 00.031
18 Martin Tomczyk BMW M4 1m33.842 00.190
19 Maximilian Gotz Mercedes-AMG C 63 1m34.056 00.214
20 Timo Glock BMW M4 1m34.109 00.053
21 Robert Wickens Mercedes-AMG C 63 1m34.121 00.012
22 Lucas Auer Mercedes-AMG C 63 1m34.168 00.047


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Event Hockenheim
Track Hockenheimring
Drivers Augusto Farfus , Jamie Green , Edoardo Mortara , Pascal Wehrlein
Article type Qualifying report