Hungaroring in for Oschersleben in 2016 DTM calendar

The DTM has officially announced its nine-round calendar for 2016, headlined by a return for the Hungaroring venue.

The Hungaroring was introduced as a DTM track in 2014, with the sole race that year won by eventual champion Marco Wittmann, before the circuit was dropped from the 2015 calendar.

But the track will now be making its return in 2016, stepping in in place of Motorsport Arena Oschersleben and taking the penultimate slot on the schedule.

The loss of Oschersleben could be seen as a blow for BMW, whose cars dominated the 2015 event, locking out the podium in both races.

The only other major change in the calendar concerns Spielberg, the place which saw the season-defining "push him out" controversy.

The Austrian track is moved from its August slot to the end of May and will follow three weeks after the Hockenheim opener.

2016 DTM calendar:

Date Track
May 6-8  Hockenheim I
May 20-22 Spielberg
June 3-5 Lausitzring
June 24-26 Norisring
July 15-17 Zandvoort
August 19-21 Moscow
September 9-11 Nurburgring
September 23-25 Hungaroring
October 14-16 Hockenheim II
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Article type Breaking news