BMW Lausitzring qualifying report

BMW Motorsport

Spengler claims first DTM pole position for BMW since 1992.

Poleposition  for Bruno Spengler, BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M3 DTM
Poleposition for Bruno Spengler, BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M3 DTM

Photo by: xpb.cc

BMW Motorsport enjoyed a dream result in qualifying ahead of the second DTM race of the year: Bruno Spengler secured pole position in the deciding “top-four shootout” with a time of 1:18.777 minutes.

Spengler, at the wheel of his BMW Bank M3 DTM was 0.038 seconds faster than fellow BMW driver Augusto Farfus, who clocked the second best time in the Castrol EDGE BMW M3 DTM. The two BMW drivers will now start Sunday's race side-by-side on the front row of the grid.

This was the first time BMW had set the fastest qualifying time in the DTM since 18th June 1992. Back then it was Johnny Cecotto who claimed pole position in a BMW M3 at the Nürburgring. Almost 20 years later it was the turn of Spengler to add a chapter to BMW’s success story in the DTM with the twelfth pole position of his career. BMW now has 31 pole positions to its name in this series.

Martin Tomczyk also qualified in the top ten at the Lausitzring. The reigning DTM champion clocked the seventh fastest time at the wheel of the BMW M Performance Parts M3 DTM. Andy Priaulx (GB, Crowne Plaza Hotels BMW M3 DTM) and Joey Hand (US, SAMSUNG BMW M3 DTM) qualified in 13th and 14th. Dirk Werner (DE, E-POSTBRIEF BMW M3 DTM) had to settle for 21st place on the grid after a difficult qualifying session.

Just as it had been the case at Hockenheim qualifying again turned out to be a tight affair: All three DTM manufacturers brought two cars each into the top-six.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Drivers Andy Priaulx , Joey Hand , Martin Tomczyk , Johnny Cecotto , Bruno Spengler , Augusto Farfus , Dirk Werner
Teams BMW Team Schnitzer
Tags bmw, spengler, tomczyk