Biagi is the most successful BMW privateer of the 2012 season

51st BMW Sports Trophy Award Ceremony in Maisach, Germany. Thomas Biagi received a check handed to him by Jens Marquardt and Alessandro Zanardi.

Maisach (DE), 1st December 2012. This year’s trophy for the most successful BMW privateer goes to Italy: BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt and Alessandro Zanardi (IT) presented Thomas Biagi (IT) with the winner’s cheque for 30,000 Euros at the 51st BMW Sports Trophy Award Ceremony in Maisach near Munich. Biagi can also look forward to a drive in the BMW M3 DTM – which was the special reward for the winner of the 2012 BMW Sports Trophy.

Biagi’s success came courtesy of overall victory in the Italian GT Championship at the wheel of a BMW Z4 GT3 run by BMW Team Italia, as well as third place in the International Superstars Series in a BMW M3, again representing ROAL Motorsport. Biagi claimed four race wins and 14 podiums in the two series.

He can now look forward to a drive in the BMW M3 DTM.

Jens Marquardt

“Congratulations to Thomas Biagi,” said Marquardt. “Together with his team-mates he really made his mark on the 2012 Italian GT Championship. Over the course of last season we once again witnessed countless magnificent performances from BMW drivers in high-class racing series. The fact that Biagi has come through to win the BMW Sports Trophy against such strong opposition underlines just how consistent he has been this year. He can now look forward to a drive in the BMW M3 DTM.”

Biagi, who won the BMW Sports Trophy with a score of 434.23 points, said after the Award Ceremony: “First place in the BMW Sports Trophy is a huge honour for me. I had been invited to the ceremony for the top 25 BMW privateers for the last two years. I would like to thank the fantastic team at ROAL Motorsport for enabling me to win it at the third attempt. We had an amazing year. I am proud to be a part of the BMW family. I will soon be even prouder when I get behind the wheel of the BMW M3 DTM. That is the stuff of dreams for any BMW driver.”

The 51st BMW Sports Trophy saw a total of 243 participants – more than ever before in the long history of this competition – do battle for a share of the 250,000 Euros prize money. Marquardt said: “Even after over half a century, the BMW Sports Trophy still remains extremely attractive to drivers all over the world. This year we had 243 entrants from 24 countries on four continents. They represented BMW in 47 racing series around the world. Every driver who enters the BMW Sports Trophy is part of the BMW Motorsport family. Our privateers are fantastic ambassadors for the BMW brand.”

Thomas Biagi, Alex Zanardi and head of BMW Sport Jens Marquardt
Thomas Biagi, Alex Zanardi and head of BMW Sport Jens Marquardt

Photo by: BMW AG

Second place behind Biagi, and a cheque for 25,000 Euros, went to Maxime Martin (BE). Among the 26-year-old’s achievements were second place overall in the Blancpain Endurance Series with the BMW Z4 GT3. He narrowly missed out on winning the DTM test by just 25 points in the BMW Sports Trophy. However, Martin had already completed a test at the wheel of the BMW M3 DTM just a few weeks ago. Third place, and 21,000 Euros in prize money, went to Norbert Michelisz (HU) with his BMW 320 TC. He won the Independents' Trophy in the FIA World Touring Car Championship (WTCC). He also claimed one of three BMW race wins in the 2012 WTCC at his home event in Budapest (HU).

As well as the prospect of winning a healthy amount of prize money at the end of the year, participation in the BMW Sports Trophy also comes with many other advantages. Particularly attractive are the many cooperations that BMW Motorsport enjoys with selected companies within its Customer Racing programme.

Result of the 2012 BMW Sports Trophy

Pos. Name Country Points
1. Thomas Biagi IT 434.23
2. Maxime Martin BE 409.87
3. Norbert Michelisz HU 391.07
4. Tom Coronel NL 334.00
5. Franz Engstler DE 322.67
6. Henry Walkenhorst DE 314.55
7. Robert Thiele DE 296.07
8. Yelmer Buurman NL 276.67
9. Matthias Lauda AT 274.13
10. Stefano D’Aste IT 273.60
11. Steve Jans LU 269.10
12. Michael Bartels DE 261.33
13. Rob Servers NL 255.95
14. Markus Palttala FI 253.87
- Bas Leinders BE 253.87
16. Ralf Oeverhaus DE 246.55
17. Hajo Müller DE 242.00
18. Emin Akata DE 239.90
- Wolf Silvester DE 239.90
20. Jörg Weidinger DE 239.00
21. Nick Catsburg NL 236.53
22. Robert Collard GB 231.67
23. Christian von Rieff DE 230.65
24. Carsten Knechtges DE 225.90
- Tim Scheerbarth DE 225.90

BMW Motorsport

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series DTM
Drivers Alex Zanardi , Tom Coronel , Michael Bartels , Rob Collard , Franz Engstler , Bas Leinders , Thomas Biagi , Markus Palttala , Yelmer Buurman , Maxime Martin , Wolf Silvester , Henry Walkenhorst , Emin Akata , Norbert Michelisz , Tim Scheerbarth , Carsten Knechtges , Christian von Rieff , Steve Jans , Jörg Weidinger , Ralf Overhaus
Teams ROAL Motorsport
Article type Special feature
Tags biagi, blancpain endurance, bmw, dtm, germany, italian gt, maisach, marquardt, martin, zanardi