Scion closes in on a Formula DRIFT win

Leads competition for Manufacturer's Cup as series finale approaches.

Formula DRIFT victory is close enough to taste. Scion Racing sits in first place going into the series’ final round, competing for its first-ever Formula DRIFT manufacturer’s cup. Leading the team’s success is 2014 Hankook tC driver Fredric Aasbo, currently in second place. If Aasbo wins the driver’s championship, it would lead to Scion Racing’s first Formula DRIFT Cup, as well.

The Formula DRIFT series finale will take place Oct. 10-11 at Irwindale Speedway in Irwindale, California. Aasbo’s most recent win at the Texas Motor Speedway in September continued a lightning hot season, which has included more than one lucky break. Aasbo is a fan favorite, known as the “Norwegian Hammer,” who puts on an impressive show on the track. At the Texas Motor Speedway, Aasbo and the team went head-to-head with the series leader who hit Aasbo’s tC, forcing the team to scramble to fix the vehicle before the finals.

'So much adrenalin'

“After that intense win in Texas, there’s so much adrenaline and excitement leading into the final fight,” Aasbo said. “The tC has been performing to its highest levels, making each battle more thrilling than the last.”

The Irwindale event will likely prove to be just as exciting. Aasbo will join 2014 GReddy FR-S driver Ken Gushi (in photo abive) in front of a packed crowd of more than 15,000 fans from around the region. Hot Southern California temperatures will put the teams and cars to the test.

Fans at the track will be able to enjoy a Scion Racing display, including the opportunity to check out the limited edition FR-S Release Series 1.0 vehicle.

“So much now rides on this last push to the finish for Scion Racing, the GReddy Racing team and Papadakis Racing team,” said Landy Joe, Scion auto shows and special events manager. “A winning driver and manufacturer’s cup would reward all the Papadakis’ team’s hard work and hold up the impressive drifting capabilities of the Scion tC and FR-S.”

Formula DRIFT


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula Drift
Drivers Fredric Aasbo , Ken Gushi
Article type Preview
Tags irwindale speedway, papadakis racing team, scion