Pawlak takes second consecutive Long Beach victory

Oliver Petalver, Formula DRIFT correspondent

The 2012 Formula DRIFT season opened to a sold-out crowd at Long Beach, CA. Justin Pawlak piloting the Falken Tires Ford Mustang took the win two years in a row.

“It’s just amazing to come back to Long Beach and put down another win 2 years in a row. This is a great way to start the season and go for the championship,” said Justin Pawlak.

2011 season champion, Daijiro Yoshihara, took second place in the Discount Tire/Falken Tire Nissan S13. An exciting addition to the 2012 season is rookie and Formula DRIFT Asia champion Daigo Saito. Saito, in the Achilles Tire/Bridges Racing Lexus SC430, finished third place in his very first Formula DRIFT Pro Championship event.

Winner Justin Pawlak celebrates
Winner Justin Pawlak celebrates

Photo by: Oliver Petalver

The event was held in the streets of Long Beach and utilized Turns 9, 10, and 11 of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach Street Course. Formula DRIFT kicked off the season to a sold out audience and many fans have seen many driver changes as well as 19 rookies in the field. Round 2: Road to the Championship at Road Atlanta continues on May 11-12.

For more information, please visit: Formula DRIFT

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula Drift
Drivers Justin Pawlak , Daijiro Yoshihara , Daigo Saito
Tags falken, featured, ford, pawlak, petalver, saito, yoshihara