Formula DRIFT Round 5: Throwdown Results

Formula DRIFT returned to Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, WA for Round 5: Throwdown.

Long Beach, Calif. – July 19, 2014 –  Darren McNamara in the Falken Tire Nissan S14 takes his first victory of the season.

Round 5: Throwdown held at Evergreen Speedway showcased intense competition throughout the weekend. The weather held up for the capacity crowd as they were entertained by the action on track, the open paddock and Offset Kings car show.

“The competition has tightened up with only two events remaining this season,” says Jim Liaw, President of Formula DRIFT. “We can expect the final two rounds of the season to be as intense as ever. The drivers will be battling for every point possible.”

Number one qualifier, Darren McNamara faced fellow Irishman, Dean Kearney in the Oracle Lighting SRT Viper, in the finals. After a close battle, McNamara was able to take the win for his first victory of the season. This also marks the first podium in Kearney’s career. Rounding out the podium in third place was current point leader, Chris Forsberg, in the Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z, for his fifth consecutive podium of the season.

“It’s nice to be back. It’s been a rough year,” said Darren McNamara, winner of Round 5: Throwdown. “We’ve had a few things to overcome, but we’re here. It’s been a flawless weekend and it’s hard to believe. I’m so happy, especially for the team.”

The 2014 Formula DRIFT Championship season continues to Round 6: Showdown at Texas Motor Speedway on September 12-13.

Formula DRIFT Professional Championship Presented by GoPro 2014 Standings After Five Rounds

1. Forsberg, Chris

Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z


2. Aasbo, Fredric

Hankook Tire Scion Racing tC


3. Gittin Jr., Vaughn

Monster Energy / Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR


4. Moen, Kenneth

Bridges Racing Nissan 240SX


5. McNamara, Darren

Falken Tire Nissan S14


6. Bakchis, Aurimas

Feal Suspension / Nitto Tire Nissan 240SX


7. Pawlak, Justin

Falken Tire Ford Mustang


8. Kearney, Dean

Oracle Lighting Dodge Viper SRT


9. Nishida, Robbie

Achilles Radial / Bridges Racing Lexus SC300


10. Wang, Forrest

Get Nuts Lab / Hankook Tire / STR Racing Nissan S14


11. Grunewald, Conrad

Megan Racing / Top 1 Oil / BRE Chevrolet Camaro


12. Essa, Michael

Essa Autosport / Yokohama BMW M3


13. Tuerck, Ryan

Retaks Maxxis Tires Air Force PSI Scion FR-S


14. Gushi, Ken

GReddy Performance X Scion Racing Drift FR-S


15. McQuarrie, Tyler

GoPro Mobil 1Chevrolet Camaro


16. Field, Matt

CX Racing / Nitto Tire Nissan 240SX



Round 5: Throwdown Event Results


1. McNamara, Darren

Falken Tire Nissan S14


2. Kearney, Dean

Oracle Lighting Dodge Viper SRT

2nd Place

3. Forsberg, Chris

Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z

3rd Place


Manufacturers Championship Standings After Five Rounds


1. Scion

569.50 Points

2. Ford

534.50 Points

3. Nissan

529.50 Points

4. Chevy

330.00 Points

5. BMW

299.00 Points


Tire Championship Standings After Five Rounds


1. Hankook

784.00 Points

2. Nitto

613.00 Points

3. Achilles

574.00 Points

4. Falken

508.00 Points

5. Maxxis

246.50 Points

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula Drift
Drivers Fredric Aasbo , Chris Forsberg , Darren McNamara , Dean Kearney , Vaughn Gittin Jr.
Article type Race report