Series news 2010-07-26

Pivotal six week stretch lies ahead for Nitro Jam competitors U.S. 131 Motorsports Park next up for Nitro Jam the weekend of August 13-14 MARTIN, Mich. (July 26, 2010) -- As summer weather sets in all across the nation the Nitro Jam series is ...

Pivotal six week stretch lies ahead for Nitro Jam competitors
U.S. 131 Motorsports Park next up for Nitro Jam the weekend of August 13-14

MARTIN, Mich. (July 26, 2010) -- As summer weather sets in all across the nation the Nitro Jam series is preparing to heat up as well as the tour gears up for a pivotal summer stretch beginning at the Northern Nationals at U.S. 131 Motorsports Park in mid-August and running through the North American Nationals in New Hampshire in September.

Beginning the weekend of August 13-14 at U.S. 131 Motorsports Park the Nitro Jam tour will hit three tracks in six weeks during a stretch that will ultimately make or break the season for professional drivers chasing the first ever Nitro Jam championship crowned under the new format. In addition to a stop in Michigan the Nitro Jam tour will also bring its new format and show to Maryland International Raceway the weekend of August 28-29 and New England Dragway the weekend of September 11-12.

When the dust finally settles following the summer stretch the championship picture will finally become clear heading into the series finale at Virginia Motorsports Park October 15-16 for the Nitro Jam World Finals.

All three touring classes have put on amazing shows through the first six races of the season and with the recently resurfaced U.S. 131 Motorsports Park up next fans can expect near record runs and exciting side-by-side racing all weekend long.

Through the first half of the 2010 season competition has never been tighter in Nitro Jam's premier class as Top Fuel titans Bruce Litton and Bobby Lagana have traded the championship lead back and fourth nearly half a dozen times already this season.

Coming into Martin Litton is currently the man on top, bringing with him five wins, three runner-up finishes and a narrow three point lead over Lagana. Lagana, also with five wins, has been the biggest surprise so far this season with a championship caliber year for the lowest budgeted team on the tour.

Despite the David and Goliath comparisons, Lagana has managed to thrive under the new rules with some of the best numbers of his career and a class leading 18-6 round win-loss record. As the only driver among the four to have never won a championship, the final four races of the season will be pivotal for Lagana as he chases his first ever Nitro Jam title.

Behind Litton and Lagana are '08 Top Fuel World Champion and '09 NHRA Rookie of the Year Spencer Massey and defending champion Del Cox Jr. Cox, who took a major hit in points at Grand Bend when he failed to make the trip, has a lot of ground to make up if he wants to repeat in Top Fuel, sitting some 97 points behind the leader.

Not to be outdone the 100 percent nitro-powered Pro Fuel class has been just as exciting as their quicker and faster cousins with low five-second runs at over 270 miles-per-hour. Minnesota based racer Jeff Hamelink currently leads the class with one win, having amassed 283 points through the first six races this season.

Bill Evans, driver of the "Black Pearl" Pro Fuel machine, is second with a series-leading four wins, followed by Michael Manners in the "Shreddar" Pro Fuel Dragster, Robin Samsel and Rich McPhillips.

By far the most exciting new addition to the Nitro Jam formula is the incredibly popular Prostalgia Nitro Funny Car class. Featuring halftrack burnouts and on-the-edge racing, the new class has been a hit with fans as some of the best nostalgia cars in the country have joined the tour.

Leading the new class is Steve Nichols, driver of the "Mill Road Boys" '70 Camaro, who has amassed 328 points via two wins and two runner-up finishes through 12 races this season. Friend and rival Peter Gallen, driver of the "Poverty Stricken" Vega, is just behind with 262 points. Gallen leads all drivers with four wins this year.

Greg Jacobsmeyer, driving the "All-Star Dodge" Challenger, is third, followed by Mike "McAttack" McIntire and John Dunn.

Easily the most competitive group of the season, six different drivers have won races this year and four more have visited at least one final round in 2010.

For all the classes the month long summer stretch will ultimately decide the championship going into the World Finals in October. Don't miss a minute of the action at a track near you as the Nitro Jam tour travels to Michigan, Maryland and New Hampshire beginning next month.

-source: ihra

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Drag
Drivers Bruce Litton , Spencer Massey , Michael Mann