MIR Spring Funny Car Classic results

For Immediate Release. Contact Bill Pratt 301-870-9876 (bilden@erols.com) Alcohol Funny Cars Scott Weney of Spring City, PA, took the Sheetz Racing 1997 Firebird to the title over a stout eight car field. Weney also recorded low elapsed...

For Immediate Release. Contact Bill Pratt 301-870-9876 (bilden@erols.com)

Alcohol Funny Cars

Scott Weney of Spring City, PA, took the Sheetz Racing 1997 Firebird to the title over a stout eight car field. Weney also recorded low elapsed time and top speed for the event at 6.11 seconds at 227 mph. Weney defeated Rudy McAdams in the final round. McAdams, of Ellicott City, MD, ran best times of 6.34 seconds at 210 mph in the Chevy- powered Pipe Dreams 1996 Camaro. The event marked the triumphant return of former world champion Bunny Burkett. Burkett returned to the driver's seat after a life-threatening accident in 1995 from which she was not expected to walk again, let alone drive a 240 mph funny car. Bunny was still sorting out the brand-new Gordy's Race Cars-built Dodge Avenger. Outfitted with her 1986 world championship- winning motor, she did not run quick enough to reach the final. The crowd went wild, however, when she won a second round race over long time friend Leroy Dewdney.

'Frantic Four' Dragsters/Altereds

Bobby Parlett of Hughesville, MD, dominated the category for the second straight race, using consistent 6.80 elapsed times to take the Computech Systems dragster to the win. Larry Plummer of Pasadena, MD, was the performance star with a low qualifying blast of 6.50 seconds at 207 mph. Parlett was quicker when it counted, however, running 6.85 seconds at 192 mph as Plummer went up in smoke in the final round. Parlett may have received a little luck from a celebrity guest, U.S. Congressman Steny Hoyer. Hoyer enjoyed the racing and cheered wildly every time Parlett won a round. David Wilcox of Richmond, VA, and Mike McKenzie of Baltimore, MD, were semifinalists.

'Frantic Four' Doorslammers

Frank Snellings, Jr., of Falmouth, VA, used consistency to win the Frantic Four Doorslammer title--his first major win. Although the 1996 Chevy Lumina driver ran without nitrous oxide or a supercharger, his string of 7.1-second runs were quick enough to defeat the likes of April event winner Tommy Howes. Howes of Laytonsville, MD, ran 6.67 seconds for the low qualifying spot, but broke a rear axle and nearly ran over the christmas tree in a first round loss to Rick Everley of Baltimore. Snellings defeated Everley in a great final round, 7.10 seconds at 187 mph to 7.18 seconds at 193.99 mph. Amar Riley of Accokeek, MD, was the other semifinalist.

Jet Funny Cars

Al Hanna of Enfield, CT, won three straight match races over Bob Van Sciver of Atco, NJ, in the jet funny car match race. Hanna ran best times of 5.78 seconds at 279 mph in the Autoworks Eastern Raider Firebird-bodied machine. Van Sciver was right beside Hanna on all three runs, but came up a bit short with best times of 5.84 seconds at 260 mph in the Dyn-O-Mat Warrior Thunderbird.

Other Pro Stuff

Toby Ehrmantraut of Belleville, OH, made three nine-second runs on the rear wheels only in his Hemi Under Glass Dodge Daytona wheelstander. IHRA Pro Modified racer Tommy Gray was out testing in the Undertaker 1938 Chevy machine. Helping Gray was Pro Street racer Johnny Barb, who has just sold his "world's quickest Chevelle" to long time Chicago area Pro Stock racer Junior Griffin. Jamie Emery was out with his nitro-powered Harley Davidson drag motorcycle. Emery ran best times in the 7.9-second zone. And last but not least, 'Benny the Bomb' took an old Cadillac Fleetwood, loaded it with dynomite, spashed it down with gasoline, got in, and lit the fuse. The thing exploded in a raging inferno, with the hood flying 30 feet into the air. Benny was pulled out shortly thereafter, but the resulting fire took 30 minutes to extinguish and reduced the Caddy to a burned-out hulk!

Super Pro

Charlie Yingling of Waldorf, MD, and Paul Campanella of Delaware were forced to split the winner's money as MIR hit the 1:00 a.m. EPA curfew just before the final round. Yingling drove a 1977 Chevy Vega; Campanella drove a dragster. Sandy Hall of Fairfax, VA, was the semifinalist.


Derek Brockdorff of Silver Spring, MD, pulled off a HUGE upset to win the Motorcycle category, as the rookie racer defeated 1996 MIR track champion Ronnie Procopio, Jr., in the final. Brockdorff rode his '91 Suzuki 750 to a 12.69 second run on a 12.77 second handicap after Procopio left the line too soon and fouled in his 1992 Suzuki GSXR 1100. Robbie Hunnicutt of Prince Frederick, MD, was the semifinalist.

Heavy Eliminator

Alan Thatcher of Manassas, VA, ran 13.08 seconds on a 13.07 second handicap to defeat Dale Wilson of Brandywine, MD, who ran 12.24 seconds on a 12.22 second handicap. Thatcher drove a 1977 Camaro; Wilson drove a 1973 Plymouth Duster. Don Baugher of St. Leonard, MD, and Jessie Hubble of Seabrook, MD, were semifinalists.

Junior Dragster

Derek Ward of Friendship, MD, ran 9.26 seconds on a 9.25 second handicap to defeat Matthew Parlett of Mechanicsville, MD, who ran 10.18 seconds on a 10.15 second handicap. Dan Jolles of Silver Spring, MD, was the semifinalist.

-- Bill Pratt Bilden Enterprises, Inc. bilden@erols.com

Drag Racing List Online - 20,000 racer listings from 1950 to present! http://www.draglist.com

The Race Place! - Books, videos, games, and more for drag racing fans! http://www.draglist.com/raceplac.htm

Dave's Drag Photos - Glossy photos of history's greatest drag racers! http://www.draglist.com/drlphoto.htm

1320 Gear - Awesome Hot Rod T-Shirts! Breathtaking designs & color! http://www.draglist.com/1320gear.htm

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Drag
Drivers Bunny Burkett , Scott Weney , Tommy Gray , David Wilcox