Competitors back new Oz drag racing series

The breakaway Australian Professional Drag Racing Series has received the blessing of Top Fuel, Top Bike and Nitro competitors.

News of the breakaway series surfaced last week, with three of Australia’s largest drag racing venues, Willowbank Raceway, Sydney Dragway and Perth Motorplex deciding not to be part of ANDRA’s top-level drag racing series.

The series has already names its 2015/16 calendar, and now competitors have come out to welcome to new initiative.

“Top Fuel Australia is optimistic the vision proposed by Australia’s major tracks will revitalise the sport,” said TFA’s general manager Bruce Read.

“The venues are the ones at which drag racing’s premier category, Top Fuel, races so we are pleased to see them taking on the interests of competitors and setting a new direction for the re-commercialisation of the sport.

“TFA believes the new series is a step in the right direction. We welcome the proposal in principle, and look forward to discussing the finer details with its organisers.”

Top Fuel Motorcycle also threw its support behind the new series, with three-time National Champion Chris Matheson agreeing it is what’s best for both competitors and fans.

“We are excited to about the new series, and look forward to taking part,” Matheson said.

“Top Fuel Motorcycle hails the reduction in competitor costs, the proposed prize money structure, commercial direction and formation of a commission. We look forward to taking part.”

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Drag
Article type Breaking news